We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
the views from every room in the house are... quite breathtaking sunset view from the deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
the views from every room in the house are... quite breathtaking
sunset view from the deck
the kitchen dining space is perfectly designed with social inclusion of the chef(s) in mind
2nd double room looking west and north to the Hebrides from the comfort of your bed
window to the Hebrides
The decking at the front is 54m2, plenty space to play and quaff a sunset prosecco!
set your solar wind forecast and get outside to watch the Aurora Borealis or Northern Light show
the master bedroom has direct access to the outdoor deck & a cool pop-out window for chillin/readin
hallway adorned with naval charts
the infamous Waternish sunset
master bedroom
the outside deck looking in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stellasta...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This place is perfect. The house is every bit as beautiful as the pictures make it look. Simple and clean, the decoration is tasteful and doesn’t detract from the view. The kitchen is very well equipped and Thomas left us a welcome package of milk, eggs and a bottle of wine.

Thomas was quick to respond to every question from booking though how to operate the windows. We had trouble with the hot water in one bathroom one day and he had a plumber out within 12hrs of my emailing him.

The house is warm and cozy and the WiFi works great.

We walked around Stein, hiked out on th Waternish peninsula, ate at Loch Bay (amazing!) and enjoyed visiting Skyeskins, the nearby sheepskin tannery. There’s a great coffee shop there too. It’s in a yurt, and called Yurtea and Coffee.

Overall, we loved it and wished we could stay longer.

Overall we

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2018
Thanks so much for coming to visit. It was an absolute pleasure to host you all. Take care and come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosssco82
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Salt Winds stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Had an lovely relaxing time at Salt Winds in Waternish. Beautiful house and location. Comfortable, spacious bedrooms, and large open plan living space, all with stunning views. All bathrooms spotlessly clean and very high standard, like the rest of house. Kitchen was very well equipped and a joy to use. Managed to have breakfast and dinner outside all four days, with the midgies only an occasional problem when the wind dropped! Really didn't want to leave and looking forward to going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2018
Fantastic to hear, thanks so much. You will always be welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jantimp2
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat ”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We arrived home yesterday after spending 2 weeks at salt winds celebrating our silver wedding anniversary. The house was stunning, even better than the photos suggest. The views are amazing, particularly the sunsets. We had 2 days of cold rain where we lit the lovely log burner followed by 12 days of hot, actually very hot sunshine. We sat on the decking watching dolphins play in the bay below. It was magical.
The bathrooms and kitchen are all modern and everywhere was immaculately clean. The beds were comfortable.
Our dog had a great time watching the wildlife and chatting through the fence with the little dogs next door. It’s great to find a truly luxurious house that accepts dogs!
We ate out at the loch bay restaurant and the edinbane inn and the food was so good.
The owner, Thomas, was quick to respond to any questions and very pleasant.
I would happily have stayed here for ever. Thanks for a fabulous holiday. Hope to be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2018
It was a pleasure to host you. I was very envious watching you sit on the deck every day when I drove past! Come back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate S
1 review
“Beyond expectations”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Salt Winds provided us with an unforgettable stay on Skye. The house is beautifully equipped with great attention to detail. Location wise, it can't be beaten - the views are spectacular. Easy walking distance to a great pub and lovely restaurant. We had a wonderful week. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
Thank you very much for your visit Kate. I am so glad you loved it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara Z
1 review
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Having a fantastic time at Waternish. Beautiful views and a stunning lodge with everything you could possibly need. Well done Salt Winds. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Thanks Lara! Please come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing