We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnside Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning Waternish Peninsula
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The stunning Waternish Peninsula
Master bedroom with ensuite bathroom and view towards the Loch
The view from the master bedroom out towards the Loch
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom with shower
Burnside cottage in the sun
The stunning view from the twin bedroom
Family bathroom with bath and shower
Kids room - with great views of the sea from the top bunk
The stunning colours of a sunset on Watnernish
The garden in full bloom.
The sea arches just the otherside of Ardmore Bay - a short walk from the house.
The burn or little stream of Burnside Cottage
A perfect day in Waternish
The moorland is just out the back door
Sun going down over the Outer hebrides.
Dolphins in the Minch
Watnerish at dusk
The post box by the front gate - from the days when the cottage was the old post office.
A Seal off Waternish point.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Bluegrass...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in August 2018

We had a great family summer holiday - the cottage is in a great location and has wonderful views. It has everything one needs - very comfortable, clean and warm. Everything has been thought of from hot water bottles to games and DVDs for those misty isle afternoons. We really enjoyed using the bread maker and having lovely family dinners together. A lovely place to stay to explore the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in great location.”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

We loved the waternish peninsula it’s so quiet and peaceful a real chance to relax and enjoy beautiful surroundings. The cottage was spacious and well equipped, we really enjoyed making bread everyday with the breadmaker ! We had a wonderful stay and can’t wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlamacleo...
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed 31 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a great week staying at Burnside. It is a lovely cottage in a magical setting with amazing views, well laid out and beautifully equipped. We couldn't have asked for better facilities or a better home-from-home. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
1 review
“Delightful and above and beyond our expectations!”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Sadly we only had 3 nights in this delightful cottage full of character! It was very well equipped and had been decorated and modernised to a high standard. The area was beautiful, there was plenty to do and see and the weather was amazing! What more do you want? We will be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod L
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Cant wait to go back!”
Reviewed 24 May 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I thought Id written this review months ago....Oh well. My wife and I came to Burnside Cottage in December, 2017, and stayed until Jan 2nd. Sarah was extremely helpful with all of my questions, her response time was very quick. It was a long snowy drive from Edinburgh to Isle Of Skye, but we finally got to Portree to stock up. From there, the cottage is a short drive, about 30 minutes or so. Again, the instructions Sarah gave us made it very easy to find. Driving through the village, we were feeling pretty excited, as the scenery is amazing. Stein is a 5 minute slow drive from the cottage, and has a nice Inn, as well as a Michelin stared restaurant, Loch Bay. We went straight to the cottage, and were blown away by the Ocean views, the cleanliness of the cottage, the thoughtful decor....just everything. The fireplace kept us plenty warm and toasty, so we didn't use the heating system very much, as it is also extremely efficient. We will definitely be planning to stay here again, as it is perfectly cozy in the cooler months, our favorite times to spend on Skye.

We walked to Stein a few times, it is about a 40 minute walk or so, very easy though, and very enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2018
Hi Rod
Nice to hear from you. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Burnside Cottage. I do hope you make it back up to see us on Skye one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing