We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful beach cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
On the beach, Luskentyre Luskentyre dunes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
On the beach, Luskentyre
Luskentyre dunes
Double bedroom
Box bed in the kitchen
Preparing a special dinner
Family bathroom
Summer flowers on the mach air
Evening  light on the sands
Cottage interior
The snug
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fitzgeral...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful beach cottage!”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

After our visit to Harris Cuckoo Cottage, we fell in love with Luskentyre beach! This cottage is perfectly situated overlooking the most beautiful beach on Harris. We spent part of our honeymoon here and we are so glad we did. Although the weather wasn't the best, we could sit watching the changing skies and tides from the comforts of 'our' wee cosy cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weloveHar...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An idealic island retreat”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Cuckoo was glorious! Perfectly situated and beaming out across the beautiful Luskentyre beach with its red roof showing proudly, this was a cottage that we were sad to leave at the end of our trip to Harris. A very comfortable stay with excellent facilities and the greatest outlook on earth, in our opinion. Perfectly equipped and smartly laid out with plenty of space to curl up with a book or enjoy some home cooking. With the greatest thanks to the owners, and we'll certainly be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallace12...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“to expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The location makes up for the cottage.
The cottage is poorly equipped and a warm shower was not possible!!
The garden is not looked after, therfore clouds of mitches and if you like to enjoy your view from the inside, you have to park your car on the single side track because there is no parking for your car unlike you park your car in front of your window....
Very disappointed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
makeusmil...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“situated in a the most perfect place on earth”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

No matter what time of year, leaving west Harris is always the most difficult part of the year. You just never know where the time goes and you never get all the things done that you wanted to do so you always have to come back! This compact "cottage" was a great base, well equipped, informal and flexible for 2 adults and 2 large male teenagers. The view is awesome and difficult to drag yourself away from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahJW82
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in the most spectacular place on Earth”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Sweet, extremely well-equipped cottage on Luskentyre beach which is the most beautiful beach I have seen. My only suggestion for improvment wouyld be blinds in the main bedroom (& wifi although that might actually spoil the splendid isolation) but otherwise faultless.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing