We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
On the beach, Luskentyre Luskentyre dunes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
On the beach, Luskentyre
Luskentyre dunes
Double bedroom
Box bed in the kitchen
Preparing a special dinner
Family bathroom
Summer flowers on the mach air
Evening  light on the sands
Cottage interior
The snug
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annypurpl...
Wenhaston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks in late May early June. We wanted to explore wildlife on the extraordinary Scottish machair. We wanted all our home comforts including constant warmth. We got everything we wanted here: abundant wildlife, fantastic setting on Luskentyre beach with stunning views from the cottage all from the tastefully decorated and fully equipped accommodation . I could have happily spent another two weeks or more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaLeGro...
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had an incredible holiday. This was our first time to the Hebrides and we will definitely be back when we can. The cottage was beautiful and on a quiet road. We were so lucky to get this cottage as there are very few in this part of Harris (for good reason). Luskentyre Beach is perfect - soft crushed shells like icing sugar - and at this time of year there were hardly any other people which made it even more peaceful.
Good base for all of the many galleries around the island and we ventured to the standing stones at Callanish (on Lewis). Restaurant at Leverburgh called The Anchorage is worth a visit or two. Cottage was really lovely - beds and bedding were really comfy. Wee TV area for chilling after kids had gone to bed where you could watch the sunset. Next time I am hoping for a showing of the northern lights with any luck.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiona p
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for 2 people”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

You can,t help but love this little cottage.Th e owner was extremly helpful,the cottage has an amazing selection of books on Harris.We could not see how you could possible sleep 6 people comfortably or with any privacy.It would make a great place for 4 people if you turned "the Snug" into a 2nd bedroom,had a right angled kitchen and a very much smaller dining table.As with the previous review you do need blinds on upstairs velux windows.It would be nice to also have a comfy sofa....Ikea are not the best for them!Yes, we would return but with only the 2 of us in it,s current layout.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DR CHRIST...
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cuckoo Cottage - Compact (<50sqm), Cosy & Clean”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

PROS & CONS - five-a-piece

Attractions:
1. Compact (<50sqm), cosy & clean;
2. UFH + HW both provided. Building generally well insulated, so warmth not a problem;
3. Decent-sized bathroom + shower-room, both with WC+basin;
4. Location/view - immediate access to and superb views over LuskentyreBeach;
5. Wet weather entertainment amenities (Freesat + Wii).

Reservations:
1. Water pressure not great (both bath & shower);
2. No blinds for 3 Velux windows in upstairs bedroom;
3. No mobile phone signal or wifi (some would label this an advantage!);
4. Essentially a one-bedroom cottage, with open plan living-diner room and separate lounge area. Can sleep 7 if privacy amongst occupants is not essential and you’re not all over 6’ tall;
5. A few minor maintenance issues - heavily creaking floorboards & door handles broken/missing - which the very reasonable owner will probably soon have sorted.

Hope this simple summary is of help

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close access to one of the UK's most superb & extensive beaches – Luskentyre
Liked least: Poor water pressure - c.20 mins to run a bath
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martykar
Halstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb location,warm and cosy house,great holiday”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The house was clean and well equipped, with great views across the dunes to the beach, which has to be one of the best but whilst we where there hardly anybody on it.
Good location, for plenty of walks and bird watching.
Will definitely go back and would have no hesitation in recommending.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing