We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
117
24
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
117
24
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews early ferry cake left lovely view comfortable room stayed here for nights an evening meal dining room a lovely stay warm welcome first class would definitely stay here again stayed longer arlene hostess loch breakfast views
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2021

My partner and I stayed one night before a very early ferry at Avalon b&b and it was great. Room is quiet, very well equipped - appreciated the piece of cake and the hair dryer. We had an issue with the toilet which was fast resolved. Thanks Arlene

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LM_LDN888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2020

We arrived off the ferry, after a long day’s travel, to be met by Arlene who gave us a warm welcome, showing us to our cosy, comfortable room. After a great night’s sleep, we pulled back the curtains to an amazing view!

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and really set us up for the day’s exploring!

On our last morning, we had to leave early for the ferry to Uist - before breakfast- so Arlene gave us a packed breakfast away with us, to feed us on our journey. We were snacking on it all day!

I would recommend Avalon to anyone visiting Harris. It is conveniently situated, our room was comfortable and attractive, but most of all, Arlene made us so welcome.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved it. The owner was delightful and really helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The room was comfortable, we even had a view over the water. I loved watching the gannets out on the water, and the little birds on the feeder in the garden. The location is great, and you can easily walk into Tarbert.
I really couldn’t fault it.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank the-rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2020 via mobile

We stayed one night and would thoroughly recommend this place. We were allowed to check in early which was very helpful. Our room was the smallest (we were made aware of this when booking) but it was perfectly comfortable. The breakfast from a very scenic dining room was excellent. The location is very handy for the ferry too. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 548DaveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2020

We stayed here for 4 nights and we could not have wished for a better host Arlene was so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble for her.The breakfast was lovely and plentiful as was the tea tray in our room with cake left for us every day on our return. As we caught the early morning ferry Arlene packed a breakfast/lunch for both of us so much food.
Our bedroom had a lovely view of the loch as did the dining room. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Harris.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews