We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute luxury with views to take your breath...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ardmair Bay House

Ardmair Bay House, Ardmair, Ullapool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ardmair Bay House, Ardmair, Ullapool
A luxurious Five Star Retreat peacefully nestled in the rocky hillside in Ardmair Bay The ideal escape to the Highlands
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Ardmair Bay House, Ardmair, Ullapool
A luxurious Five Star Retreat peacefully nestled in the rocky hillside in Ardmair Bay
The ideal escape to the Highlands
Admire the spectacular views looking cross Ben Mor Coigach and the Isle of Martin
Cosy nights at Ardmair Bay House
Fully Equipped Modern Kitchen
Star gaze while relaxing in the Hot Tub
'Aerial views over Ardmair Bay'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lizzyelms
Stonehaven, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolute luxury with views to take your breath away”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at Ardmair Bay House last week and it was by far the most relaxing and luxurious break we have ever had. From the moment we walked in the door I felt relaxed and at home, when it came to leaving I was sad to go.

The house is so well laid out and the decor is modern but still very cosy, and done to a very high standard. Downstairs there is a large kitchen with centre island and large dining table and chairs. All mod cons are provided, as is a lovely welcoming bottle of wine from the owners on arrival :) There is also a utility room with washing machine and other household necessities. The living room is huge with a very comfy sofa, wood burner for added cosiness and, if you want it, Sky TV. There is a separate games room with Wii, MP3 and DVD player, as well as jigsaw puzzles and games - it was great to see the kids put down their ipads and start piecing together jigsaws!

The bedrooms are again beautifully decorated and spacious, with plenty storage. The main bedroom has the most amazing floor to ceiling window with a view to make you want to stay forever! There is a glass-railed balcony with seats for soaking up the view, and the sun if it's shining! The other two upstairs bedrooms are just us luxurious, with an additional one downstairs. All have plenty towels, dressing gowns and toiletries. The bathrooms are all spacious and stunning, decorated to such a high specification.

Outside on the patio area was the hot tub; it was very clean and well-maintained and an absolute treat for both adults and kids. We were in it both daytime and nightime...the underwater lights made it even more fun at night. There is plenty seating on the patio and in the warmer months it would most definitely be a lovely place to sit in the evenings.

The area is wonderful, the scenery is stunning and you couldn't find a better property to spend your break. Plenty walks in the area and also quite a few Geocaches nearby for those who enjoy this activity. Highly recommended by adults and kids alike!!!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The feeling of home from home, with added luxury
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Thank you Liz & Simon for such a fantastic review of Ardmair Bay House. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay.
Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Hand on heart I can't find a single thing to to say about Ardmair Bay House other than *wow*. Everything we could possibly have wanted was supplied, including dressing gowns and slippers! The wood burning stove was a great success on an evening after a dip in the hot tub. The bedrooms were very welcoming and the bathrooms inviting, all of which are individually designed to a very high standard. On our visits to local towns (Ullapool and Lockinver) we were met with friendly locals and great food. We were very fortunate that the weather was so mild in January that we were able to sit on the patio in the mornings and take in the fabulous views of the Coigach mountains. This a great base for walkers or more adventurous climbers, but also a wonderful place to relax and chill with family and friends. We will definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
Thanks Richard for your amazing review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
223shaz19...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly Amazing”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We travelled to Ardmair Bay House staying for New year. The owners responded to our booking within minutes. The house itself is amazing the owners have thought of everything and is equipped with everything you can think of. Every room is immaculate and perfectly designed and furnished. We used the hot tub even though it was below zero outside and the bathrobes and slippers which are provided for every guest were great. The views from the house are the best ive ever seen and you'll never get tired of looking at them. The log burner kept the living room lovely and cosy on the winter nights. For anyone that has problems with stairs there is also a bedroom and bathroom downstairs which would be ideal. The town is only 3km away where you'll find a Tesco and bars and restaurants. Don't hesitate in booking this house it is truly amazing and so peaceful the ideal place to relax surrounded by snow topped mountains.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
Sharon, thank you for a wonderful review. We are delighted that you chose Ardmair Bay House to celebrate New Year! Its great to hear you made full use of the hot tub and log burner. Glad you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back.
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked a last min break and so glad we did the house was fantastic & the view is simply to die for. There were some nice touches from the owners inc a bottle of wine & fresh flowers, I would deff stay there again and well worth the money only downside that we could not stay longer!!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home! :)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
Thanks Vicky glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you are able to stay for longer next time!
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya228
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

4 of us stayed here for a week. On arrival we were greeted with bsicuits, oatcakes, milk, local smoked cheese & salmon as well as a bottle of wine & fresh flowers. The house was immaculately clean and stunning. The large windows in the kitchen, lounge and 2 largest bedrooms provided beautiful views, and the ever changing weather & light gave us a different perspective every day. Towels, bathrobes & slippers were provided for us, and came in very useful when using the hot tub, which we did most evenings, in the wind & rain as well! The kitchen is very well equipped with everything we needed for cooking every evening, and the pottery plates etc were a nice touch. There is plenty of space in this house, and you can spend time together or have time apart easily. All in all very luxurious and a real treat. Ullapool is a walk or taxi ride away and there was plenty of opportunity for us to play traditional music with locals & visitors alike. A very friendly bunch of people who made us feel very welcome. I would definitely return and recommend this house to stay in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views & cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
Thank you Tanya for a great review, delighted you enjoyed your stay!
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$221
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing