We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, clean and comfortable Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 The Hawthorns

Everything you need for a comfortable stay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Stay warm beside 'Little Red'
2 singles or 1 super-king
Outside dining area
A place to relax and enjoy the evening sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gullane, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jayne M
2 reviews
“Lovely, clean and comfortable Cottage”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a lovely stay in this perfect cottage. On arrival Adria met us at the door and was so welcoming. We even had milk and a bottle of wine waiting on us on arrival. A lovely touch. We enjoyed lovely walks with our dog Dexter at Gullane beach and further afield. It was such a nice couple of days away. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and Adria could not have been any more helpful. Thank you so much and we hope to return. Duncan, Duncan Jnr and Dexter.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Thanks so much for this positive review. Lovely to hear that you - and Dexter (great walks around here though we say so ourselves!) - enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Many thanks for your positive review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Do let us know if we can help another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
212LINDA
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed in this delightful little cottage with my daughter and our dog for 4 days. It is ideally located for walks onto the beautiful beach. The accommodation is extremely well equipped and owner Adria is on hand next door should she be required. Gullane is an ideal base for visiting nearby towns along the coast. We would love to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Thank you for this positive review Linda. Indeed, it would be nice to see you again next year. Adria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewhan...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great, cosy stay, just what we needed”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic 3-night stay at The Hawthorns. It had everything we needed for a comfortable visit, and a great location for exploring the beaches of Gullane, North Berwick and beyond. The layout and decor are very well thought out, and despite the small size was perfectly adequate for two adults and two boys aged 12 and 9.
Adria was a very accommodating and helpful host, and we will certainly return in due course - hopefully in the winter to make full use of the lovely log burner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
That's a lovely review, thank you. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamoooosa
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable accommodation in Gullane.”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a very good place. Compact, very well equipped annexe to the main house, where the friendly owner lives. Very well appointed. Everything in this house has been chosen to cater for the needs of the visitors. Great beds, quality bedding. We enjoyed the coffee machine - nice small detail that makes lot of difference. Good shower. Very clean place (trust me, I am fussy). Enough space for our family with grown up sons, to have supper after day at the beach or in the city. We have used this place as a base for golf in Gullane and daily trips to Edinburgh for the Fringe festival. (It is about 40 minutes by car, which was fine with us). This accommodation allows dogs which is a fantastic bonus. There are lovely paths along the Muirfield golf course down do the beautiful Gullane beach. There is a small patio on the back with a lovely eucalyptus under which you can sit and relax. So I guess its all thumbs up from us. We will go back. Thank you Adria.
PS There is a German baker in Gullane Falko, first rate cake and rye breads...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how well appointed the house was
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thanks for the positive review. It was nice to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing