We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Tranquil hillside setting of the Coach House Coachhouse from west end
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Tranquil hillside setting of the Coach House
Coachhouse from west end
Outdoor table & log store - east end
Coachhouse from east end
Giant stone horseshoe seat
East wing dining table
West wing sitting area
West wing dining/kitchen
Cat on wildflower meadow roof of extension
Friends
Matilda
Peace!
A good catch
Sidecar adventure
View from a sidecar
Ferrying the first guest to our writing course in March
Writing in better weather - with advice from Oz
Lettie
View of Coachhouse from back
View to the east  from Coachhouse back fence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tizzyliza...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Where do I begin?
The Coach House really is perfect in every way possible! The hosts Juliet and Alan are lovely and make you feel at home, we were welcomed with balloons, banners, birthday cake and biscuits (such a thoughtful welcome).
The house is large, clean, well furnished and has such a good feel about it. From the lovable llama's to the cheeky chickens, the wildlife is varied and the children (and adults!) loved them. Plenty to do from a ping pong battle to spooky nighttime walks. The location is ideal, central to all the best visitor destinations in Dumfries and Galloway.
3 generations have all had a truly wonderful week celebrating two 40th birthdays. We all hope to return one day!!! Thank you Juliet and Alan. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Dear Birthday Girls and family, thank you for the brilliant review. It was such a pleasure to have you all to stay at the coach House. We are pleased you had fun and we hope you have another birthday to celebrate here again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather S
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday accommodation equipped for all the family. Great location, beautiful house and surroundings.”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Coach House more than met our expectations (which were high), needs and wishes. We arrived at this beautiful house set in lovely surroundings to a warm welcome from Juliet and Alan (Owners) which included tea, coffee and yummy home made cake. A quick tour of the house and we were left to get on and enjoy our holiday.

A large family of three generations coming together for our annual vacation and there was something for everyone. The accommodation was designed for comfort and equipped for everyone and every taste. Safe for the children to play inside or out, Wi-Fi for the teenagers and easy access throughout for the grandparents.

Ample space and comfort for the family to come together for meals, games and to sit and catch up on everyone's news, especially fabulous was the dining table made for all, yet enough alternative spaces for everyone to do their own thing without disturbing others.

The children and Grandpa in particular loved the llamas. Through feeding, walking the very patient Lettie and even taking her on a walking trip into town and back through the country lanes our little ones with special needs blossomed beyond belief. A trip in Alan's trailer through the surrounding countryside was a big hit with the younger ones and rides in the motorbike sidecar for others.

Easily accessible to many attractions made this a fabulous holiday for all of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ability for everyone to be sat together for meals, games and chats, yet each person able to do their own thing when they wanted to.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Wow, what a lovely, comprehensive and kind review - we are delighted with it, thank you so much. We (including the llamas and hens) really enjoyed seeing the little ones flourishing and it's a real bonus to meet a grandpa who is just as enthusiastic about the llamas as the kids are! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werfner
1 review
“Beautiful, scenic, relaxing - spectacular house!”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Spectacular house, beautifully furnished and kitted out. The owners were lovely and so generous to us. Lots to do nearby and very comfortable house. We felt like we were at home! Loved the chickens roaming and the Llamas behind the house. Worth every penny :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you had a good hen weekend at the Coach House and you are most welcome to return any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
Thank you for the very kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and you would be most welcome to visit the Coach House again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Graham R
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super Hero Sanctuary”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our New Year 2014, was everything and more we could have wished for.
There was 3 families all under one roof (11 in total). loads of space for everybody to relax. The dining room table sat everybody with room to spare.
The owners Juliet and Alan made us so welcome and left you alone to get on with your holiday and helped at any time that we needed information or advice about the house.
The Llamas were very 'human' like and Juliet was more than happy for the kids to take them for a walk or help at feeding time.
Recommend this very special retreat to anybody looking for a peaceful get away.
Thank you Juliet and Alan for the great New Year Holiday.
From the Super Heroes x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property, Play room, Large Kitchen and wood burning stoves
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Dear Super heroes,
Thank you for the great review. You are welcome to fly back to the Coach House any time. Lettie the llama was pleased to be taken for a walk by Super Heroes!
I hope we see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing