We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really comfortable and cosy.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Carriage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fieryvixe...
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really comfortable and cosy.”
Reviewed 27 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely carriage. Set in a beautiful location looking out on to fields. Lovely walking area. So peaceful, a lovely place to relax. The carriage is really well equipped with every thing that you need. Would be a great place to stay in the summer months.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanbedr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Izzy232
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed here for a week with 2 adults and 3 kids - great amount of space outdoors for the children to play and plenty of room in the carriage. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and the carriage is well furnished and has everything you need - outdoor pizza oven and bbq included, although we didn't get to use them as not warm enough outside! The bedrooms are a good size and very comfy and it is great place for bird watching - Red Kites flying around frequently and we also had a visit from a woodpecker.
We would have definitely liked to stay longer and will be returning in the future.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments about the Carriage. We will continue to try and keep making improvements to the Carriage facilities and experience.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne K
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic & Unique Home From Home”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was not our first visit to the carriage - nor will it be our last (I'm looking to book again before the year is out!) We have spent the last three summers here and have enjoyed other visits too. The carriage itself is set in stunning countryside with beautiful views and fantastic space. We travel with our two young boys so have a superb choice of places to visit from all the beaches to the many farm parks.The carriage itself has everything and more we need for our stay. My husband loves to cook and enjoys cooking inside and outside throughout our holiday. We had a small concern with water leaking outside from the washing machine whilst we were there. We brought it to the owners attention and it was immediately addressed. We get such a warm welcome each time we return - it's hard to consider staying anywhere else, so many positives! Beautiful railway carriage in a gorgeous part of Scotland.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thanks for your kind remarks. We always try to resolve any issues brought to our attention by guests in the quickest way possible. Delighted that you want to come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornwallC...
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed by condition, left early.”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We cut our family holiday short, leaving two days early. The overpowering smell from both en-suite bathrooms was a major factor in our decision to leave. The smell was masked upon arrival by plug-in air fresheners and presumably toilet cleaning products, but soon became unbearable in the bathroom to the left (we did not use this shower). In addition to the smell, we were disappointed with the cleanliness of the kitchen appliances - the fridge, microwave and toaster all needed a good wipe down and sported remains of previous occupants food, as did the kitchen cupboard. We did not use the toaster, microwave or oddly placed oven and left our food bagged on the counter. A puddle of water gathered in the bottom of the very tired looking fridge - presumably due to the obvious list of the carriage. The settee, besides being damaged by a dog, was also very tired. The springs inside both double mattresses could be felt, the worse being in the bedroom to the left. There was no way of preventing water from the shower splashing onto the floor in the bathroom to the right (the screen only covered half of the shower space) and the toilet seat was ill-fitting.

We were impressed by the outside space and enjoyed watching a variety of birds feed at the feeders.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Clearly disappointed with The review. We take on board all the points raised.
Most disappointing was the fact that we were not made aware of the problem with the smell until our clients were leaving on the Thursday having been with us since the previous Saturday. We immediately called our plumber and the problem was found to be a damaged seal in the waste system which was fixed within half an hour. The smell was highlighted as the reason for the early departure, non of the other issues were raised. The carriage is let regularly and no one has previously passed comment on any smell issues so we can only assume that the problem occurred during our clients stay when the weather was extremely inclement and very windy.
We can only apologise for any issues regarding cleanliness, this is unacceptable and not up to our normal standards.
The issue with the sofas was explained on arrival. A guests dog recently chewed a hole in the cover. Our upholsterer is currently making new covers and they will be fitted soon.
We regret that we were not given the opportunity to rectify the main part of the complaint at the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing