We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
134
118
31
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
118
31
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was large a bit tired comfortable hotel scottish hospitality warm welcome garlic mushrooms steak pie great food meal menu scotland galloway rear ferry portions tlc banter
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Bruce as a group of 11 on our annual golf break.
We used it as our base for 4 days.
The breakfast was absolutely spot on
Everything was available!
We also had dinner here on 2 of the nights and the food and choice was excellent
The staff everyone single one of them couldn't do enough for you!
The rooms and the place in general could do with a bit of tlc here and there but very clean and tidy.
We would definitely be staying here and sampling the Scottish hospitality again. Thank you.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank stobbie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Cannot thank the staff of the hotel enough for accommodating my friends they loved every minute of their stay.
They enjoyed their Scottish breakfast & evening meals, lots to choose.
Very quiet & comfortable just what you need on a hectic day.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank susanL7663IU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

We visited the Bruce Hotel as a party of four for a bar meal in the evening. We found a warm and friendly welcome. The bar was clean and comfortable. The food ordered of staters and main vp purse were delivered promptly. The quality of the food was very good and the portion sizes were very good. The people who looked after us were very friendly and cheerful. We did not see the rest of the hotel but how we were dealt with and the quality of the meal suggests that a stay here would be nice. We were very pleased with our meal and thoroughly enjoyed it, you can eat here with confidence.,

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Degman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Stayed here recently with friends and it is great value for money , especially in the quiet season. Very good friendly and efficient staff. It is a very clean and well run establishment and has a certain old world charm to it, even if some of the decor is a bit tired, it makes up for it in character. The breakfasts are very good and all that you would expect. A good choice of evening meals on offer too and I would advise you to bring an appetite as the portions are very generous. Well worth a visit for lunch or dinner and would recommend it as a location from which to explore the Galloway area.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeeFromMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

The Bruce is a hotel that you could find issues with but that would be churlish. It's clean, comfortable and all bar one the staff were friendly and helpful. But please!!!! Get bigger TVs - or issue guests with binoculars to watch from bed - our sizeable room had a TV with a 15 inch screen!

I remember when The Bruce opened 40-odd years ago it was seen as stylish and upmarket. Well its glory has clearly faded and The Bruce could do with a spruce (up) but I accept that the economics of running this kind of hotel must be seat-of-the-pants stuff.

Our room was large, well furnished and very clean (as was the hotel in general). Breakfast was hearty, the only let down was on the third and final day I was served re-heated sausages which were, therefore, tough.

I suppose the key though is would I stay here again and the answer has to be a simple and categoric yes. The Bruce Hotel does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baillwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews