We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This cottage is a gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carol H
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This cottage is a gem”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and myself stayed at Penkiln cottage for 3 nights 7th-10th November 2015. We arrived to be greeted by Mark and Diane,we where showed round the cottage by Mark who was a wonderful host. Inside the cottage beautifully presented,fresh flowers on the table,milk in the fridge, Diane's homemade plum jam and shortbread biscuits went down a treat. The cottage was spotlessly clean, warm and well equipped, we both found Penkiln Cottage lovely and quiet and enjoyed good nights sleep in a warm comfy bed.Only regret we should of booked for a longer stay we will defiantly go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Dear Guests . Many thank's for posting your review . We do appreciate the time our guests take in posting their reviews , and we would love to see you both again back at Kirkland Farm, and hopefully you will be able to stay a little longer next time .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissPhryn...
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Liked it”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This cottage is presented with a well equipped kitchen and tasteful decor. It was immaculately clean on arrival and the basket of goodies and milk in the fridge was very much appreciated after a long sit on the M6. The surrounding scenery is beautiful and although it feels remote, the town is just a few minutes away.
As a family with children aged 10-15 the lack of Wi-Fi was a blessed relief and there are plenty of games in the cupboard to keep everyone occupied. There is also a comprehensive selection of books in the property including some on the local area.
The one drawback for us was the futon in the living room. The mattress was a little hard for our 14 year old son but on the plus side for him the size of the room meant he didn't need to put the bed away each day!
This place suited our need for a base from which to visit relatives in Newton Stewart. Mark and Diane have clearly drawn on their own experience of holiday stays to provide an appealing, comfortable and well equipped holiday let themselves.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didi0875
stirling, scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed...”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Last minute break booked at Penkiln for 3 nights during October half term.
Plus points:friendly host, spotlessly clean, good quality bed linen, towels, furniture and soft furnishings, great location with lovely walks from doorstep, wildlife spotting, Barbara the pig!, milk, fresh flowers and homemade jam on arrival, fantastic dark skies at night for star gazing and shooting star spotting and ample outside space to use eg outdoor furniture at both back and front of property, well stocked kitchen with assortment of pots, pans, bowls, glasses etc, great size Living room with comfy sofas and chairs ( kids loved the rocking chair)

negatives: difficult to find. no directions to property sent prior to departure. Not clearly sign posted at all . Only sign for farm is quite obscure and easily missed. Wouldn't like to arrive in the dark!
Cottage was freezing cold when we arrived and took a while to heat up . It would be good to have heating on prior to guests' arrival . Likewise the heating is either on or off. Told not to use timer therefore as a result had to leave on overnight ( never do this at home) so it would be warm for getting up in morning however it then became too hot during the night. Likewise, as instructed, switched off when we were out during the day, but then house was cold again when we arrived back in the evening. Having it on a timer for a few hours in the morning and then again in the evening would prevent this and may also be more cost effective as i'm sure not all guests switch it off when they go out for the day?
the great sized Living room made it slightly problematic to have cosy, family time watching TV as the TV is nowhere near adequate in size or quality for the size of the room. It is so small that you almost have to be sitting on top of it to see the screen clearly ( tricky when there are 4 of you trying to watch it!). Due to small size the sound had to be turned up pretty high to hear from opposite side of room but the sound then became distorted... No movie nights for us while on holiday...
We couldn't even substitute the poor quality TV by streaming a movie from the internet as there is no Internet... Very surprised by this as nowadays Wifi in properties is as common as a washing machine. Despite the fact we are not a gadget family ie time spent on devices at home is limited it is nice when on holiday to be able to relax, do a bit of browsing of the local area and things to see and do while actually there while at the same time the kids can relax on their tablets etc
Finally , and the most disappointing aspect for us, were the extremely uncomfortable beds. The master double was so lumpy, with springs easily felt, that we had to put the futon mattress from the living room on top of it to provide us with a decent night's sleep. likewise the bottom single bunk bed mattress was also the same and we had to improvise by putting three folded up bed throes ( found in the wardrobes) on top of the mattress to provide one of our kids with a decent nights sleep.
A great cottage in a fab location that with some new mattresses, Wifi and a decent size TV could be superb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lumpy mattresses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail P
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Second Wonderful Holiday in Penkiln Cottage”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Penkiln Cottage the location is fantastic for exploring south west Scotland .The cottage is spotlessly clean, warm and very comfortable plus well equipped throughout. Again a very warm welcome from Mark the owner who made us feel welcome again, the children loved the farm and we will be returning as soon as possible for another relaxing break in this Lovely Cottage with the advantage of being all on one level makes it even more comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage is Lovely
Liked least: Midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Dear Guest's . Many thank's for your wonderful review of Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm . We are always grateful for return guests , and always look forward to seeing familiar faces . We would love to welcome you all back again soon.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAMIL37
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A brilliant stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very comfortable, well equipped, well presented cottage in a lovely location. Being all on one level with a shower would also suit those with mobility issues. Good base for walking, cycling, bird watching and visiting amazing gardens. Lots of quiet roads for cycling including the No. 7 cycle route which takes riders off road on good cycle paths. Lovely welcome package and the owner Mark was very helpful and was even prepared to accept our ferrets, in a rabbit hutch we bought with us, in the garden. We will definitely return. Have already recommended to a friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort & location
Liked least: Wi fi would have been nice. Also a soak in a bath would be nice after a long cycle ride.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Dear Guest's.

Many thank's for your lovely review, and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Kirkland Farm . People are always amazed at how many varied places there are to visit that are close by and, often comment on how beautifully located we are at the farm .
We look forward to welcoming you back to Penkiln Cottage in the very near future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing