We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second Wonderful Holiday in Penkiln Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gail P
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second Wonderful Holiday in Penkiln Cottage”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our second stay at Penkiln Cottage the location is fantastic for exploring south west Scotland .The cottage is spotlessly clean, warm and very comfortable plus well equipped throughout. Again a very warm welcome from Mark the owner who made us feel welcome again, the children loved the farm and we will be returning as soon as possible for another relaxing break in this Lovely Cottage with the advantage of being all on one level makes it even more comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage is Lovely
Liked least: Midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Dear Guest's . Many thank's for your wonderful review of Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm . We are always grateful for return guests , and always look forward to seeing familiar faces . We would love to welcome you all back again soon.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAMIL37
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A brilliant stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very comfortable, well equipped, well presented cottage in a lovely location. Being all on one level with a shower would also suit those with mobility issues. Good base for walking, cycling, bird watching and visiting amazing gardens. Lots of quiet roads for cycling including the No. 7 cycle route which takes riders off road on good cycle paths. Lovely welcome package and the owner Mark was very helpful and was even prepared to accept our ferrets, in a rabbit hutch we bought with us, in the garden. We will definitely return. Have already recommended to a friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort & location
Liked least: Wi fi would have been nice. Also a soak in a bath would be nice after a long cycle ride.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Dear Guest's.

Many thank's for your lovely review, and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Kirkland Farm . People are always amazed at how many varied places there are to visit that are close by and, often comment on how beautifully located we are at the farm .
We look forward to welcoming you back to Penkiln Cottage in the very near future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsiipom
Brompton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect home from home stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is the second time we have stayed at Penkiln Cottage and once again it was immaculate, modern and very comfortable. We were greeted with some fresh bake scones and homemade Rhubarb and Ginger Jam. The weather was mixed with plenty of sunshine at the beginning of the week and it was bleak and damp later but we went out every day and thoroughly enjoyed exploring the beautiful countryside. Thank you to Mark and Diane for giving us a wonderful base for our holiday. We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness and comfort
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Dear Guest's .
Many thank's for your great review of our cottage at Kirkland Farm. We are always happy to respond to our guest reviews , especially when people have returned to stay with us for a second time .We very much appreciate your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annietheb...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“brillant holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

the cottage was lovely and cosy it was like home from home mark and Dianne were very nice and left a few things for us when we came like homemade scones and jams nothing would off been to much bother for them if you asked for help..the area around was cottage was lovely scenery. plenty of places to visit like cream of Galloway and portpatrick and other places.. you can go for lovely walks all around and if you want to hire bikes the owner of the bike shop at the top of the town near Sainsbury is very helpful. also plenty of choice for places to eat like the brigend pantry and the café on the main road at the same end of town as Sainsbury. will definetly be looking for another time to go back our kids are aged 12 and 14yrs and they loved it thanks mark and Dianne for a lovely place to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of the holiday
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Dear Guest's .
We are glad to hear you have had a great time here with us at Kirkland Farm , and we are always happy to help and tell our guest's of the many places for them to visit . Everyone always enjoys their visit to Portpatrick , and the many other places within easy reach of our location . As always we very much appreciate the time people take in writing their reviews. We hope to welcome you all back in the near future.
Kind Regards Mark and Diane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tattooedj...
South Coast UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxed home from home.”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We picked Kirkland Farm at Newton Stewart for 2 weeks because of its rural location and the large size of Penkiln Cottage. We were not disappointed. The Cottage was lovely, very well equipped and exceedingly comfortable! We were not blessed with the best weather, but it didnt stop us from exploring all the local towns and villages.
We ranged in age from forty something to 9 years. Quite a trick keeping everyone entertained, but Mark and Diane were always able to make a suggestion of somewhere to visit that would keep all of us happy. Their knowledge of the local area was brilliant.
At last count we had seen wild deer, owls, frogs, pheasant, buzzards, rabbits, hares and goats. Not to mention the cows, sheep and chickens on the farm. We also loved Barbara the pig - my kids would have quite happily put her in the car to take back home with us! Dorothy the cat, and Big George and Belle. We did a lot of walking, though nothing too vigorous as one of the party was disabled. We made several visits to Kirkudbright, Wigtown and Clatteringshaws Loch.
All in all it was great value for money. There were some small takeaways in town if you needed them, or you could cook in the cottage - which we did on several occasions. There are also some lovely restaurants nearby. Most meals were very good value and all were very tasty.
All in all I can recommend this cottage for couples of any age of families. Yes - even my 17 year old enjoyed herself. Once she managed to seperate herself from the internet, she explored the area and even spoke to the locals who were all really friendly.
Thanks Mark & Diane for a great relaxing family holiday!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and its setting
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Dear Guest's.
What a lovely review , we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Kirkland Farm. People don't realise how many places there are to see near to us, and are constantly amazed at our beautiful rural setting , but still being near to all the amenities that people want when they go on holiday . Many thank's, and we would love to welcome you all back in the near future .
Kind Regards Mark and Diane . Dorothy, George, Bell and Barbara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing