We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful short Break Lovely Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gail P
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful short Break Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were delighted with the cottage and the location the cottage is spotlessly clean,warm and very comfortable plus well equipped throughout. A warm welcome from Mark the owner who showed us around the cottage and the farm area he also told us about the fishing and the places to visit. We hope to return with the grandchildren next year for a much longer stay.
Highly recommended location for exploring Dumfries & Galloway with lots of good beautiful walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the cottage very clean and modern
Liked least: never caught a fish
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Dear Guest .
Many thank's for your kind review of Penkiln cottage. We are always appreciative of our guest's who take the time write about their stay at Kirkland Farm , and the positive response we get from our guest's makes us feel very proud .
looking forward to seeing you all next year .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne D
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous, spacious and well equipped cottage; lovely, friendly owner”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What can I say? We were greeted by a very friendly owner (Mark) who showed us round the lovely cottage - more kitchen equipment than I have at home. Mark then showed us the pig and the hens and kindly came with us for a walk round the fishing pond as the cows were quite near the gate. If you like walking this is perfect, as there is a lane at the bottom of the driveway with a burn (more like river) to walk along side which leads to Knockman Woods 3 walks, where we saw deer, fox and numerous birds - but sadly no red squirrels. Also around 3 miles in the other direction is an RSPB reserve with 3 separate walks and lots of wildlife and fauna. The owners made this extra special by having fresh flowers waiting, a pint of milk in the fridge and fresh eggs, jam and biscuits and a few tea bags so us tired travellers could have a quick cuppa and snack before unpacking. Perfectly peaceful we didnt want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: coming home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Dear Guest.
Great review ! We are always appreciative of the time people take to post a review . and we are pleased you had such a good time here with us at The Kirkland.
People are always pleasantly surprised at the many varying places to visit in the surrounding area ! and we are always happy to recommend nice places to visit . We look forward to seeing you all in the very near future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueC1966
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideally situated”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our first time renting a cottage and our first 'staycation' and overall we were very impressed. Penkiln cottage is ideally situated to explore the best that Dumfries & Galloway has to offer. It is a well appointed, roomy cottage with all the facilities you'd require for self catering. Mark & Diane provided a welcome basket with home produced eggs (delicious), homemade jam (sadly, we are not jam people), biscuits & oatcakes, which was a really nice touch. The cottage is slightly off the beaten track, so it is secluded and quiet, but just a short drive from the town centre, which has everything you'd need, from supermarkets to take-aways (we recommend Taste of India & Dynasty Chinese) - be prepared to wait quite a while, it is worth it).
The only slight negative is that the cottage garden is not totally secure, so we were unable to let our dog roam on his own. However, this in no way spoilt our stay & we would certainly consider returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, close to the Forest of Galloway & Newton Stewart town centre
Liked least: The midges - take plenty of spray in the summer months
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Dear Guest.
Many thank's for taking the time to review our cottage , we are pleased you had a pleasant stay, and we do appreciate the time people take in writing the reviews. We do rely on feedback from our guests , so as to further improve their stay with us,and we are always looking for any further improvements we could implement. Hope to see you all soon !
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly hosts!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a lovely weekend in Newton Stewart and received a warm welcome from Mark on arrival.

The cottage is spacious, well equipped and comfortable. The location of the farm is wonderful with wonderful walks on the doorstep.

We would recommend the Cree Inn, Creebridge Hotel and The Belted Galloway for dog owners.

We look forward to returning for another visit.

Drew & Rose (+ Cree the dog)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Dear Guest's
Many thank's for your lovely review of Penkiln cottage . It's great to see that people have a relaxing time , and we very much appreciate the time you have taken in posting your review .We have lot's more places for you to visit ! Hope you can stay longer next time.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alandra24
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of Heaven.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What else is there to say about Penkiln Cottage that hasn't already been said. To stay in this lovely cottage was a sheer delight. The cordial welcome of Mark and Diane started our holiday off perfectly along with the generous basket of fresh eggs and delicious home made jam. The weather was kind to us and we only had rain over a couple of days but that didn't stop us from visiting Stranraer, Kirkudbright, Girvan and Ballantrae. The gorgeous sunny weather saw us enjoying the delights of Mossyard beach which is only 20 mins drive away and of course fishing for trout on the well stocked lake at Penkiln Cottage. The week passed all to quickly and we are already planning our next visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Dear Guest .
Thank you so much for your kind review, and so glad you enjoyed your stay at Penkiln Cottage. We really appreciate the time people take in posting a review, and we very much look forward to you coming to stay with us again in the very near future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing