We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Recharge batteries”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Glentrool Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of house Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
front of house
Living Room
Living Room
Double Bedroom
Bunk Bedroom
Kitchen
Dining room
back Garden
Twin Bedroom
Access to forest at rear
Forest at rear of cottage
Beside Loch Trool, Glentrool
Loch Trool
Bruces Stone, Loch Trool
Hills beside Glentrool
Rear of cottage in snow
Loch Trool
Wood Of Cree
7 Stanes Glentrool
Loch Trool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James C
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recharge batteries”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We needed to find a place that was warm, clean, well stocked, peaceful and were we could walk for miles. This cottages was perfect for us. Our teenager was at home, our dogs in kennels, so two very stressed out people arrived. It was our 23rd Wedding Anniversary and we wanted to celebrate quietly. Well all I can say is, two chilled out people left a week later!
To be honest having no Wi-Fi etc., was a real bonus for us, glad to leave all that behind us for a week.
We will be back.........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Glentrool. I am really glad you had a relaxing week away from it all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzievie...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

After the surprise of finding that we were not a single cottage without neighbours we settled into this cosy, warm cottage and had a lovely stay. Our neighbours were friendly but not intrusive and the cottage provided everything you could wish for. Unlike other places we have stayed, cleaning products, kitchen roll and other necessities, were all there for our use. Find the Sainsburys in Newton Stewart and remember everything as it is quite a drive but only a very short drive to eat at the House o The Hill pub, fantastic restaurant quality food not to be missed! I would return for sure. One thing which would have been great would be wifi, to help with ideas for exploring and of course face booking. Can u tell, we loved it at Glentrool cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Cottage was so homely and warm
Liked least: Pillows on the bed badly need replacing, my neck is not too good after struggling with them
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your review and really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Glentrool. Our aim is to provide all the extras that we would like to find if we stayed in a self-catering property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your review and really glad that you enjoyed your time at Glentrool.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for your review - glad you enjoyed it your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emma S
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family break!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The house was beautiful, we stayed for four nights myself, my husband, my son who is 7, my daughter who is 3 and our three little yorkshire terriers. The lovely owners have thought of everything and the children loved the garden and forest just to the back of the house. The forest is breathtaking and the house is in a perfect location to enjoy the outdoors. The cafe down by the river is lovely and definately worth a visit. I have and will recommend the house to friends and family. We had a wonderful break and hope to return again next year x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2014
Hi
Thank you for your lovely review and for your stay at the cottage - really pleased you and your family had a good time in Glentrool.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing