We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our annual getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnbrae Holidays

Come, relax or eat in one of our south facing cottage conservatories. Amazing views into the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come, relax or eat in one of our south facing cottage conservatories. Amazing views into the garden
Relax in the cottage garden. Admire the rural views over the Eden Water to the Cheviot Hills Each cottages has a south facing conservatory with wonderful rural views. Great to eat breakfast in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Come, relax or eat in one of our south facing cottage conservatories. Amazing views into the garden
Relax in the cottage garden. Admire the rural views over the Eden Water to the Cheviot Hills
Each cottages has a south facing conservatory with wonderful rural views. Great to eat breakfast in
We supply lots of wood for your log burning stove. Each cottage also has central heating throughout.
We supply lots of wood for your log burning stove. Each cottage also has central heating throughout.
Relax in front of your wood burner, we supply lots of home grown wood.
Thairn cottage spacious living room has comfy seating for 3 and a dining area.
Spacious living room with smart TV and fast reliable fibre WiFi
Bright kitchen with large window. Welcome tray awaits your arrival with homebaking.
Mungo's Well and Begrum cottages can have twin beds.
Thairn cottage has an extra long king size bed and space for a single bed in the bedroom if required
Thairn cottage bright, spacious kitchen.
Clean, bright bathrooms.
Level access from carpark to each cottage.
Easy level access to the front door from the carpark.
Level access into each cottage.
View from patio. Come and walk in our fields.
Come and BBQ while admiring the magnificent view
The lockable cycle shed for your bikes, fishing gear, golfing equipment.
Early morning view from patio
Thairn cottage conservatory and patio overlooks lovely cottage garden.
A warm welcome awaits you whatever the weather. Central heating and a log burning stove.
Thairn cottage front door. Your holiday cottage awaits.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesley M
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our annual getaway”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment Yvette helped with unpacking the car, and the welcome tray with those fabulous warm scones, butter and jam we knew we were in our second home. It must be good, this is our fifth visit in four years, and the same high standard of accommodation has changed, for the better. The views from the conservatory are what keep us going in the dark winter days at home.
There is so much to see and do in the area, with good restaurants near by, but if the weather is poor watching the bird life just a few feet from the conservatory windows is great entertainment.

Look our Yvette, we will be back.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and calm and those sunsets
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments its a pleaseure having you to stay. I ensure that the bird feeders are filled up as I also enjoy watching the birds so close to the coservatory windows. Looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeandyson
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Burnbrae Holidays, Mungo's Well Cottage”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely, relaxing week at Mungo's Well. The cottage was spotlessly clean & had everything we needed for a self catering break. The whole cottage was warm but on the cooler evenings there was a wood burning fire & that added to our stay. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bed linen. The shower over the bath was fine & again the towels were good quality & big enough to wrap yourself in.
Round about from the cottage are many house & garden attractions as well as beaches & Edinburgh a little further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every thing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments. Its a shame that the weather was not kinder but I'm pleased that you enjoyed the wood burner. Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne S
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Views from the glass conservatory were stunning!”
Reviewed 24 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Freshly baked scones , a tea tray and a jug of milk was a hint that this cottage stay was going to be brilliant. Our hostess was out picking up children from school, but a neighbour was keeping watch for us and ensured we found our cottage, which was a tad challenging from uncertainty after writing down phone instructions. For others it is immediately after a Riding School and stables on the Edinburgh road out of Kelso. The first thing we did over our cuppa was head into the conservatory and were delighted to see lots of birds at the bird feeders. This became our favourite activity, as the scenery across the fields changed with sunlight and the garden kept catching our eye. The heating was on with consideration to us Aussies feeling the chill, as evening arrived so did our hostess with a cheery welcome and hand to set a fire. The cottage was well equipped, modern and fresh, plus spotless. We could have stayed longer, but for another booking. Lorna at the Tourism office in town centre was also an asset as she guided our exploration of the area. In a word the scenery up the Tweed riverside was "Stunning"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conservatory room
Liked least: The wifi was intermittent giving some problems in forward booking, but our hostess took that in hand and to our delight found us another local cottage stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2012
Thankyou for taking time to review you holiday cottage. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your welcome tray with homebaking. My family and I live on site which means we are on hand if guests have questions about the local area or the cottage. I always try to help guests enjoy their stay and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. I routeinly email or post written directions to Burnbrae, if guests have an address to receive these, otherwise I give directions to Burnbrae by phone.
Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenda A
Stirlingshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage surrounded by a colourful garden and great views. Well equipped and cosy with the bonus of a cute little conservatory. Very friendly and helpful owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2012
Thankyou for finding the time to reply. I hope that you have found the time to complete the textile piece which you started here. Since you were here we have improved the Wi-Fi so now it is much faster in all the cottages. I hope to welcome you back to Burnbrae.
Yvette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing