We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
162
119
58
32
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
119
58
32
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews key fob fish and chips town square generous portions reception staff three course meal staff could not have been more main course sunday lunch evening meal an overnight stay first class scottish borders wedding venue the main square lovely room stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Called in the other day for coffee whilst staying in Kelso.
I had previously stayed at The Cross Keys six years ago.
It felt very rundown then and it still does now.
If they would only invest some funds into it,this place would be the jewel in the crown of Kelso.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank freddiedoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantb1974, Manager at Cross Keys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Hi freddiedoncaster

Thank you for calling into the hotel for a coffee recently whilst you were staying in Kelso.

Your comments with regards when you last stayed at the hotel 6 years ago and it feeling rundown to you at that time are noted.

We are surprised, but more so disappointed by your comments that you clearly did not feel that the hotel has been moderised since you last visited 6 years ago.

The hotel has actually had in excess of £250K invested into it since your last visit - a significant proportion of which has been invested into moderising the ground floor public areas - which will have been the only area you witnessed given you just called in for a coffee.

However, thank you for the reference to the possibility of the Hotel potentially being the 'jewel in the crown of kelso'.

Whilst we are unsure that whatever amount of investment made into the Cross Keys Hotel it would be worthy of ever being declared as the 'jewel in the crown of kelso' - we do appreciate your comments.

We would very much welcome you to call in again the next time you are in Kelso.

Kind Regards


Liz Dyet
Hotel General Manager





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Not the most amazing hotel I've stayed in, rooms are tired and could do with updating , particularly the bathrooms, however everything was perfectly clean and the room had everything you'd need. All staff I came into contact with were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was also very good. For the price we paid and the location of the hotel I thought it was good value.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank faye12c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Stayed at the Cross Keys whilst attending a wedding in the area. Staff were great, room (third floor) was clean and adequate. The room literature warned that there may be a problem with the shower pressure/hot water due to the age of the hotel. The warning was accurate (very little shower pressure) but there was a bath so any problems averted. Evening meal was lovely and reasonably priced. Buffet breakfast was good. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HEV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We regularly visit for a Sunday lunch which has 3 roast meats and a fish dish, roast and boiled spuds and a wide choice of well prepared and cooked vegetables. Good choice of starters and sweets. The staff are very helpful and very pleasant. Nice, relaxing dining room and lounge bar. Good value at just under £18 for 3 courses, just over £15 for 2 courses. I would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We had an evening meal in the restaurant.
Lovely food fabulous flavours, really good service, in very pleasant surroundings.
The staff were all very friendly too.
Good value for money.
We did have to wait to be seated, but this was not a problem.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hmb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews