We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and charming”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tiranui Cottage

Exterior of cottage with loch views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of cottage with loch views
View out to Loch Leven from Tiranui Cottage Exterior of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Exterior of cottage with loch views
View out to Loch Leven from Tiranui Cottage
Exterior of cottage
Ensuite double bedroom with loch views
Ensuite Bathroom
Double ensuite bedroom
Twin room 1
View of Loch Leven from living room
Living/dining room
Living Room
Kitchen
Pap of Glencoe Mountain
View from cottage
Ben Nevis from Glenfinnan
Loch Leven
Ballachulish Bridge
View of Glenachullish from cottage
Pinemarten in garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballachulish, Glencoe, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rebecca B
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Comfortable and charming”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A really charming cottage with beautiful views over the lake and mountains.

Very spacious and comfortable; cosy and quaint. Every modern convenience you need. Well stocked with cutlery and crockery too.

We sadly didn't see any pine martens (although something ate the bread and jam we left out overnight), but we did see the lone sheep.

An easy short walk to a seafood restaurant, and a good base for Duror (visit the Highland Nature Reserve) and Fort William (where you board the Jacobite steam train, and visit Ben Nevis).

Sharon and Ian were wonderful hosts! We wouldn't hesitate to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property, we are so glad you had a good holiday and found everything to your liking in the cottage. We try to make it as comfortable and homely as possible and provide everything you should need.
Sorry you didn't see a Pinemarten, they are not usually shy, especially when it comes to getting their jam & bread!!!
We have named the lamb Shaun (yes I know very original)!! He has been around since he was a baby, he must have got separated from his flock. We also have Nibbles the Stag, I'm surprised you didn't see him, he is usually around the garden, eating the plants!!

Hope to meet you all again sometime in the future. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G
1 review
“A pleasent place to stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent two weeks of our holidays in Tiranui Cottage. The house is very charming and clean and equipped with everything necessary. It's likely we'll stay there again in the future. The view out every window is great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viajanter...
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cottage at a stunning location”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We spend an enjoyable week at the Tiranui Cottage with our two young children. We all had a great time. The place was very clean, spacious and well equipped. The tranquility of the place and the view of Loch Leven was magnificent. It was also nice to have dears visiting us at sun set. Another highlight is the Seafood Cafe located just few minutes from the Cottage. Despite having rain almost the whole week we had a fantastic holiday and the comfort offered by this lovely cottage was part of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage
Liked least: the carpeted floor in the ground floor, we prefer wooden floor that is more hygienic
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevtherev...
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay once again!”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Loch Leven Holidays provides excellent accommodation having stayed previously in both the cottage and chalet. The facilities are excellent and Sharon and Ian are lovely and very welcoming you feel like your at home. The area is stunning with plenty to do if you love the outdoors of course. I would recommend highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjashephe...
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cottage, beautiful location”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We've stayed at this site several times now, in the lodges and in the cottage. This is a really great place to stay! The owners are really friendly and welcoming. Facilities are great; very well-equipped kitchen and a drying room that comes in very handy in wet weather. The lochside location is absolutely perfect; there's a pebbly beach on the other side of the very quiet road, and the main A82 is five minutes' drive away, so it's very convenient for sightseeing. Love it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing