We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A M A Z I N G!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 2 Stone Cottage

18th century stone cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
18th century stone cottage
Relax in front of the log burning stove.  Views acroos the loch Newly installed kitchen December 2013  Views across the loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
47 reviews
18th century stone cottage
Relax in front of the log burning stove.  Views acroos the loch
Newly installed kitchen December 2013  Views across the loch
Electric oven, hob and microwave
Fully equipped.  Plenty of crockery and cooking utensils.
Utility area with dishwasher, washing machine and clothes drying area
New carpet and curtains October 2013
A wide selection of dvds, games, fiction books and walking books for you to enjoy
Main bedroom with kingsize bed and woodland views
Twin bedroom with woodland views to rear
Bathroom with electric shower,  New floor December 2013. the cottage also has a downstairs toilet
Grassed area at rear of the cottage leads to woodland
Deer in the rear garden.  Great to spot in the morning or early evening
Large gravel area at rear used for off road parking
Loch Linnhe
A wide variety of watersports area available within a 5 minute walk of the cottage
Pap mountain Glencoe
Evening view across the loch
Ice walking near Kinlochleven
Glencoe village
Seil Island near Oban is an excellent day trip
View across the loch from the front of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballachulish, Glencoe, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Tracy B
South Lanarkshire Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A M A Z I N G!!!”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely quaint period Cottage, with all the comforts of home.......Sue you do yourself proud with this little Gem, in both myself and my hubby's favourite place on the planet! We couldn't have wished for a better weekend in your beautiful cottage.....(we just wished we had been snowed in) lol. FAB FAB FAB!! Will definitely return ASAP! x Thank you x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2018
Glad you both had such a fab time.....fingers crossed you get snowed in next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A cosy little cottage that is quite deceptive in size !! The cottage had great facilities.Never had such a well equipped kitchen , even a decent frying pan which is a rareity. The log burner was amazing , yes we had to have it on in August ! This wasn't due to the cold weather ... men and fire haha.
Upstairs the beds were comfortable with lovely thick quilts! The bathroom was 'a bit dated' as other have stated but that didn't mean that it was any less useable, had nothing wrong with it .
The slate bench out the front of the cottage was great for sitting out with a drink at night and watching the world go by .
The only negative I would have was the main road was busy so sometimes quite loud , but you get used to that.
So well worth a visit !!!!! Sure we will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
Thank-you for your response. and pleased that you liked the frying pan! - we change that fairly regularly as everyone seems to enjoy a fry up when staying!
I appreciate that the noise from the road can sometimes be loud, but we are looking into replacing the windows to help reduce the noise - so watch this space!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey70...
1 review
“Everything was perfectly planned for us”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Everything we needed for the stay was perfectly planned and set out for us.
The detail in the hand soap, washing powder, correct firewood and even the board games was extraordinary. The beds and pillows were comfortable and very clean. We highly recommend 2 Stone Cottage!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
Glad you had a lovely stay at Stone Cottage and found the beds etc comfortable. Hopefully you will be visiting again soon. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy J
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A cosy self catering cottage overlooking Loch Leven”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

2 Stone Cottage is a compact 2 bedroom cottage situated on the A82 half way between Glencoe and Ballachulish. There are two bedrooms upstairs with a shared shower room. We had difficulty regulating the temperature of the water but possibly because we are not familiar with wall mounted water heaters. Both bedrooms also have a small wash basin with running hot and cold water. Downstairs is a cosy living room with a log fire although the supply of firewood appeared to be limited to enough for a couple of nights only. There was a locked woodshed in the parking area. There is also a small well appointed kitchen with hotplates, oven and microwave. A second toilet is also downstairs along with a washing machine and drying area. Outside in a shed against the main building is another washing machine and two driers.
WiFi is available and worked well.
While the cottage is on a slip road off the A82 traffic noise was minimal especially in the bedrooms where the windows look over the off street parking and wooded garden.
Although we were asked to leave all pots and pans clean there was not any cleaning materials other than some detergent and a cloth. There was not a scourer pad and powder. After two nights one of the smoke alarms began beeping and then a second did likewise the following night. An email to the owner did not solicit a response so we disconnected both alarms as the noise made sleep difficult. We noticed one of the alarms should have been, according to the manufacturer, replaced in 2014.
That aside we would recommend Stone Cottage 2 to a couple or maybe a couple with young children.
The location is good with access to Oban and Fort William and points north while the scenery around Glencoe itself is simply stunning

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank-you for your review, and I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to the area. Apologies about not responding to your email, I didn't see it. I appreciate you bringing to my attention the smoke alarms. I have ordered replacement ones which should be being installed this Saturday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
Thank-you for the 5 star review. Glad you had a good trip and enjoyed the views.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing