We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Cozy Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 2 Stone Cottage

18th century stone cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
18th century stone cottage
Relax in front of the log burning stove.  Views acroos the loch Newly installed kitchen December 2013  Views across the loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
47 reviews
18th century stone cottage
Relax in front of the log burning stove.  Views acroos the loch
Newly installed kitchen December 2013  Views across the loch
Electric oven, hob and microwave
Fully equipped.  Plenty of crockery and cooking utensils.
Utility area with dishwasher, washing machine and clothes drying area
New carpet and curtains October 2013
A wide selection of dvds, games, fiction books and walking books for you to enjoy
Main bedroom with kingsize bed and woodland views
Twin bedroom with woodland views to rear
Bathroom with electric shower,  New floor December 2013. the cottage also has a downstairs toilet
Grassed area at rear of the cottage leads to woodland
Deer in the rear garden.  Great to spot in the morning or early evening
Large gravel area at rear used for off road parking
Loch Linnhe
A wide variety of watersports area available within a 5 minute walk of the cottage
Pap mountain Glencoe
Evening view across the loch
Ice walking near Kinlochleven
Glencoe village
Seil Island near Oban is an excellent day trip
View across the loch from the front of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballachulish, Glencoe, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
mcq2015
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freezing house, good location”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Good location, but cold. We arrived to a very cold damp cottage on Saturday afternoon. The central heating only worked properly on the 3rd day of our stay. Radiators came on only one morning out of 7 and there was no central heating at all for the last 4 days of our holiday. Heavy rain results in water getting down the chimney, and this may explain why the wood burner was so difficult to keep alight. We asked for help and were given kindling and alternative wood logs, and shown how to light the fire (basically use a large box of firefighters all in one go to get the wood hot enough to dry out the chimney, leave the fire doors open, and be prepared to blow the fire every 10 minutes if it is a cold still day with no draw). My sister in law went down with a cold by the 6th day. The location is ideal with walks, live music, excellent restaurants/cafe's and even a small swimming pool 10 minute's walk away, but the unreliable heating system is a significant issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lack of adequate heating
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kit B
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Cozy Stay”
Reviewed 13 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We had a great time, we arrived late on Friday and left again on Monday. The cottage is well placed for getting to both Oban and Fort William but there is not a lot to do around the cottage itself so I am not sure I would have chosen to stay there for much longer than 4 days. We had pretty bad weather and spent a lot of time in the cottage and had a great time.

We managed to get the cottage really warm (although we did buy our own, dry, logs). Cooking facilities were good and the wifi worked well enough for checking weather and making plans for tomorrow.

If you are looking for a quite retreat with stunning views and the option of doing some exploring then this place is great. If you want to walk to the pub or shops then it isn't the one for you.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilucya
Reeuwijk, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in lovely cottage”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a really good stay in stone cottage 2. All facilities are there and it is really cosy.
Even though it rained a lot in october, the cottage was really nice and warm. We recommend this cottage if you want to stay in Glencoe!! Lovely views from the cottage. Thanks for a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosyness of this cottage
Liked least: the bathroom is really small, but well...it's a week not a year...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Mu...
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Hideaway in the Highlands”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage is situated at Loch Leven between Glencoe Village and Ballachulish, a perfect starting point for exploring Glencoe Valley and the West Coast. The A82 runs right in front of the cottage, but you don't hear much of the noise since the bedroom windows are to the rear. from the living/dining room area you have an amazing view of Loch Leven. The cottage is well equipped, tidy and cosy. Shops, a supermarket, tourist information, pubs, cafés, post office etc. are all within less than 5 minutes. We enjoyed our stay at stone cottage 2 very much and recommend it to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fassade
Liked least: Esszimmergarnitur
Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“What you see is what you get”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have a wide and varied experience of self-catering holiday accommodation and this was up there with the best. It's a stone cottage in stunning surroundings and there are facilities for the outdoor type or the 'tour and relax' type.
The cottage is easy to locate and is an excellent base for trips north or south. The local area has some pleasant walks and the view from the cottage is 'picture postcard'. A main road runs along outside which might put some people off, but if you're using Stone Cottage as a base, you'll be too tired to notice passing traffic. Local villages to either side are only a few minutes walk and the Glencoe Inn is excellent if you fancy treating yourself.
One tip - be aware that an occasional passer-by may decide to use the refuse bins to deposit their litter. The cottage bins are specific for recycling/non-recycling, but any lazy person who passes will not take note of the contents. It only happened once during our week but I spotted it and dealt with it.
What you see is what you get - a tidy, comfortable modernised cottage in a beautiful location. Value for money - most certainly. Would we go back - yes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Whether for staying local, or as a base for touring.
Liked least: Bedroom windows could do with net curtain or blinds. Overlooked by next door when they were using their car.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing