We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
43
57
24
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
57
24
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub haywards heath twin bedded room room was basic but clean sunday roast small tv bluebell railway kippers full english breakfast mars bar cheesecake tired and in need an evening meal business trip bed linen breakfast was excellent following morning one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

I was in the area for business meetings and needed some accommodation for one night. The pubs website looked good a d the price of £80 per night was within budget.

Arriving at the Wheatsheef Inn in the evening after a very long tiring day, the pub itself was very well laid out with a good choice of drinks and good food. Unfortunately, everything changed when I went to the bedroom.

As you can see from the photographs, the room was incredibly poorly maintained. There were stains on the walls whixh appeared to be a brown liquid drips. There was mold on the window frames and in the corner of the room - even the "do not disturb" sign hanging on the door handle was stained and moldy.

But nothing was quite as bad as the toilet.

The toilet seat was indescribable - see the pictures.

Basically, I would not recommend anyone stop at this location. Perhaps the other rooms are better, but the one I stayed in was not fit for paying customers.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We has some business to sort out in Haywards Heath after moving, so picked the Wheatsheaf as it seemed well located.
We were really tired after a long drive, so just wanted to crash out, this was impossible as the room was far too hot from an ancient heating system that was not controllable from the room.
This meant opening the windows but this only makes the not inconsiderable road noise even worse.
The room itself was a disgrace - dirty and desperately in need of renovation (by about twenty years from the look of it).
The curtains were hanging off the wall, the en-suite was just appalling.
The tray of bathroom products was covered in beard trimmings - nice touch
How these people have the nerve to charge for their shabby, dirty facilities is beyond me.
They ought to be ashamed of themselves

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

My sister and I enjoyed our stay here. The room and ensuite were small but comfortable. It was clean and we'll maintained. The only thing that could have made our stay better was having Wi-Fi in our room. There was internet access in the bar area but not in our room. Staff were friendly and helpful, we will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

The room we had (8) was a bit on the small side and the bathroom very "cosy" with a shower in the bath - functional. The decoration could do with a bit of updating, but the bed was very comfortable. We did not have an evening meal, but I could not fault the breakfast with plenty of choice between cereal, fruit and yogurt to start followed by full English, kippers, eggs however-you-want on toast, and several other choices. We had the kippers and fried egg on toast, both of which were perfectly cooked.
All said, it was perfectly adequate for our requirements.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get traffic noise in the morning.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RADE23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We were a party of nine celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary. We chose the Wheatsheaf as over the years we have enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere which has been very good.
Sadly on this occasion it fell short on all counts. The Service was slow and sullen, and being Saturday lunchtime not overly busy.
The food was very mediocre, presentation was very sloppy.
The steaks ordered were either overcooked or underdone to the extent the plate was flooded with blood, and as for the vegetables, al dente does not describe the grossly under cooked offering. The final insult was, that having cleared the table, no one returned to offer the sweet menu much to the disappointment of my grand children. We waited patiently until 3.00pm, and decided to throw in the towel. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 42elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews