We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Class Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Located at the gateway to the Shropshire Hills, within An Area of Outstanding Beauty.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Located at the gateway to the Shropshire Hills, within An Area of Outstanding Beauty.
Arden House a fine Arts & Crafts country house with period details.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Located at the gateway to the Shropshire Hills, within An Area of Outstanding Beauty.
Arden House a fine Arts & Crafts country house with period details.
Lounge with gas fire, plasma TV & DVD, dining table, desk and comfortable sofa and chair.
Lounge with plasma TV, & DVD, dining table, desk and comfortable sofa and chair.
Dining table with a view of the Caradoc and Shropshire HIlls.
Fully fitted kitchen with dish washer, washer/dryer, microwave, fridge/freezer.
Can be taken with super king size or twin beds
Ensuite shower room
Ensuite shower room
Arden House offers a warm wecome
Entrance hall to Darwin apartment
Entrance hall to Darwin apartment
Arden House gardens in full bloom!
With sensor lighting for nighttime walks.
Arden House gardens with wonderful views across the Long Mynd.
The historic market town of Church Stretton with fabulous restaurants, country pubs and tea rooms.
Carding Mill Valley - Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty - is outside the front door.
Luxury holiday apartments, with far reaching views, finished to the highest of standards .
Perfect for watching the sun go down.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
twodorria...
Coonabarabran, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Experience”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked for 3 nights but it was so good we stayed for 5. This is quality accommodation where the owners have paid great attention to detail. The bed was fantastic, it's a quiet location and Ian & Julie were the best hosts with plenty of local knowledge. We didn't expect to find so much in Church Stretton but it has everything you need and lots to do. The Darwin is perfect for 2 people but they have other apartments if you need more space. We would definitely stay with them again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the apartment.
Liked least: Apart from a half dozen steps to the door - nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
The Two Dorrians - Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and thank you for your kind words about both Arden House and our community. Pleased your home save and tell everyone in Australia about Church Stretton.

Ian & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReggieSph...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is what it says it is - a luxury apartment in a great location.”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Friendly and personal welcome was much appreciated, thanks Ian. We came to walk the hills, relax and re-charge. We achieved all of that! The surrounding hills are breathtaking and so well worth the effort of climbing them. Arden House is a lovely place to stay and well fitted out with everything you could possibly need. We stayed three nights - could easily have stayed another week! Hopefully see you next spring break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you Reggie for your kind comments – we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and you are most welcome to come back anytime. Arden House really is the perfect place to relax and unwind – it is our great pleasure to share it with our guests and help you make the most of your stay. All our very best wishes and hope to see you again soon, Ian and Julie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another amazing visit”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Fantastic weekend visit last weekend at the lovely Arden House.

The owners are so warm and welcoming and the property is lovely. We stayed in the Darwin suite....the kitchen had everything we could have needed and the lounge and bedroom were luxurious, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. This is a great location to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside and the many delicious cafes and restaurants and pubs nearby in Church Stretton and Ludlow. We will definitely be back....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thanks very much for your kind comments - it was lovely to see you both again. You certainly make the most of your stays at Arden House and we just love your enthusiasm for our beautiful area. We do appreciate our loyal guests, who return time and time again – it is very rewarding to get such positive feedback. Very best wishes, Ian & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatAndMai
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Before even getting to Arden House itself, anyone who enjoys the country shouldn't pass up the opportunity to visit Church Stretton. The valleys around it offer up an amazing view from the quaint little village and especially Arden House itself, and they make for a wonderful daytime walk, too. Arden House sits right at the foot of Shropshire Hills; you couldn't possibly get closer to where you can go for a lovely walk through them.

The House is just as idyllic as it's surroundings - a beautiful building run by the helpful and ever delightful couple Julie and Ian. We stayed in the Darwin suite, the smallest (but still spacious) suite available, and attention was paid to every tiny detail. The rooms and furnishings are cozy, tasteful and impeccably clean, and just added to the atmosphere of Arden House feeling more like a second home than a hotel. The bathroom and kitchen were kitted out with everything you could need and more, and to say the price for all this is reasonable would be an understatement. I know I'll be going back some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic value for money.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Delighted you enjoyed your stay – we feel privileged to live in such a wonderful location and love sharing ‘the hidden gem’ with our guests. Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write such a glowing review. We love Arden House and feel it is a very special place - it is so rewarding to receive such positive feedback. We hope to see you both again very soon. Very best wishes, Julie & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne K
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fabulous as ever!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Another great time in my favourite place! Church Stretton and the surrounding hills are simply out of this world and Arden House is too. Loved everything about it. Can't wait to go back and show more of my friends and relatives this wonderful place. Keep up the good work you two.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your glowing review - we are so lucky to live in such a beautiful place. It was great to see you again and meet your wonderful daughter. We are so pleased you had a relaxing break together and as a regular guest, we are delighted you liked our new self-catering apartments.

All our very best wishes and hope to see you again soon! Ian & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$108
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing