We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay for us and our dog.”
other travellers have booked this property
Master bedroom - superking bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom - superking bed
New pavilion and sanctuary area View of farm and fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Master bedroom - superking bed
New pavilion and sanctuary area
View of farm and fields
The Barn open plan sitting and dining area
The master bedroom and ensuite
The Barn hallway
The Barn kitchen
Barn Double Bedroom
British Lop pigs on site
Soay sheep on site
Fishing lake available to all guests
Wild ponies on the Long Mynd
Outbuildings around the farm
Visit Ironbridge
Visit Bridgnorth
Cycling from the cottages
Sam and Chris to welcome you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ridlyn
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for us and our dog.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was one of the best cottage holidays we've enjoyed. We stayed in Gooseyard Cottage with our collie, Leo. The cottage impressed us immediately as being clean, well maintained and tasteful. We particularly liked the bedroom with its super king size bed and two velux windows which kept us cool at night with breezes drifting through.
It was ideal for Leo with a good sized garden at the rear, suitable for ball games. The garden is not enclosed on all sides but adjoins the farmyard. This was not a problem for us as Leo does not stray far from us, more adventurous dogs may need to be on a lead. The garden has fruit trees and bushes that you can help yourself from when in season. As you sit on your patio you can see sheep and pigs at the end of your garden, and chickens wander around the whole area. It's so lovely and relaxing.
Samantha and Duncan are very welcoming and friendly, exceptionally so.
We loved Middle Farm and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall feel of the place
Liked least: It's hard to fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandJ_11
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, location and welcome”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in Daisy Cottage for a week. From the warm welcome from Sam when we arrived, after a long journey, to the very comfortable and well appointed cottage every aspect of our break exceeded our expectations. The situation of the cottage is ideal for visiting the many attractions in the nearby area and for planning interesting walks in this beautiful county. Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn F
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Awesome October Stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our second visit to Middle Farm. This time we stayed in the Barn with extended Family. As soon as we arrived Sam and Duncan welcomed us like old friends. Accommodation is so comfortable and so tastefully decorated. Beautifully equipped. Everything you could possibly need. We had surprise guests dining with us. Sam helped us out with suggestions from her bountiful selection of pork. It was my husbands birthday. We had a marvellous barbecue in the covered patio area outside. We love this place. We went up to the lake to fish. The surrounding area is so beautiful and caters for everyone's holiday requirements. We have booked another 2 weeks in February, we miss it so much. Only one negative. Very hard to get mobile reception and Wifi, but who cares when you are so relaxed and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. So relaxing
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
What a lovely review and thank you so much for saying. We have so enjoyed your visits here and are thrilled that you love this spot so much. We'll look forward to seeing you soon and thank you again for taking the time to write such kind words. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne w
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect place to stay where you are made to feel welcome.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in Gooseyard a lovely one-bedroom cottage on Middle Farm.The cottage was lovely and we relaxed into our holiday very quickly. Sam, Duncan and their family were helpful and friendly. Sitting having breakfast outside on the patio was delightful - then there were the barbecued Lop Ear Pig sausages! Sam makes the sausages herself, they are the best we have ever tasted. The eggs from Sam's hens are very tasty. The hens and piglets are great entertainment as they run around the Farm. A very quite, rural setting but within easy reach of the many interesting places there are to visit in South Shropshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being able to relax quickly and to be made welcome
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2013
Thank you both so very much for your extremely kind words and for taking the time to write to us. We really enjoyed meeting you and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us on the Farm! Thank you. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidH365
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, brilliant hosts, amazing food!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What can I say about this place that doesn't contain too many superlatives and plaudits!?
This is an *exceptional* holiday location.

From the moment you pass through the leafy village of Church Stretton, travel up the fun single-track country road, to the warm welcome by Sam at the farm, you're transfixed. Hooked.

Your hosts Sam and Duncan are the friendliest, warmest people your likely to meet. They can't do enough for you, and make you feel sooo relaxed in their farm, the surrounds, and company. You're free to go wherever you like (following standard farm-gate rules, of course!). You have free-reign in their for-guests fruit, veg and herb garden. And trust me, you're encouraged to pick your selection!
One night, Sam cooked us a hunk of their amazing belly pork in her own Aga and delivered it steaming hot to The Barn for us... and it was the best piece of pork and crackling I've ever tasted!

They have Lop pigs in the farm, and chickens, and they sell on the freshest and most delicious pork products I've ever had. The sausages are to die for, and just-laid eggs are amazing! I don't think I'll be satisfied with supermarket fare ever again.
Wonder if they can package up some loin and sausages to send on....

The Barn itself is a superior quality location, but you feel right at home in the place. With 3 bedrooms to sleep 6, and 2 bathrooms it's a delightful and superbly decorated place to stay.
We stayed for a week and if I could ship up the barn in my car I would've!

I can't recommend this place highly enough. If TripAdvisor could up their rating system, it would still get maxed out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sausages! The hosts! Also the free-reign-to-guests veg/herb gardens
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
My goodness me, such lovely and overwhelming words. I'm very touched and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. It was fabulous to meet you all and it was a pleasure to provide food for such appreciative guests. Thank you for taking the time and saying all that you have on Trip Advisor. Wishing you all the very best. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing