We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place, brilliant hosts, amazing food!”
other travellers have booked this property
Master bedroom - superking bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom - superking bed
Front of Middle Farm The Barn open plan sitting and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Master bedroom - superking bed
Front of Middle Farm
The Barn open plan sitting and dining area
View of farm and fields
The master bedroom and ensuite
The Barn hallway
The Barn kitchen
Barn Double Bedroom
Outdoor but undercover bbq cooking/fire
Fishing lake available to all guests
Wild ponies on the Long Mynd
British Lop pigs and piglets on site
Shire horses on site
Rare breed Soay sheep in surrounding fields
Chickens on site
Outbuildings around the farm
Walking on the Long Mynd
Visit Ironbridge
Visit Bridgnorth
Cycling from the cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavidH365
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, brilliant hosts, amazing food!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What can I say about this place that doesn't contain too many superlatives and plaudits!?
This is an *exceptional* holiday location.

From the moment you pass through the leafy village of Church Stretton, travel up the fun single-track country road, to the warm welcome by Sam at the farm, you're transfixed. Hooked.

Your hosts Sam and Duncan are the friendliest, warmest people your likely to meet. They can't do enough for you, and make you feel sooo relaxed in their farm, the surrounds, and company. You're free to go wherever you like (following standard farm-gate rules, of course!). You have free-reign in their for-guests fruit, veg and herb garden. And trust me, you're encouraged to pick your selection!
One night, Sam cooked us a hunk of their amazing belly pork in her own Aga and delivered it steaming hot to The Barn for us... and it was the best piece of pork and crackling I've ever tasted!

They have Lop pigs in the farm, and chickens, and they sell on the freshest and most delicious pork products I've ever had. The sausages are to die for, and just-laid eggs are amazing! I don't think I'll be satisfied with supermarket fare ever again.
Wonder if they can package up some loin and sausages to send on....

The Barn itself is a superior quality location, but you feel right at home in the place. With 3 bedrooms to sleep 6, and 2 bathrooms it's a delightful and superbly decorated place to stay.
We stayed for a week and if I could ship up the barn in my car I would've!

I can't recommend this place highly enough. If TripAdvisor could up their rating system, it would still get maxed out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sausages! The hosts! Also the free-reign-to-guests veg/herb gardens
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
My goodness me, such lovely and overwhelming words. I'm very touched and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. It was fabulous to meet you all and it was a pleasure to provide food for such appreciative guests. Thank you for taking the time and saying all that you have on Trip Advisor. Wishing you all the very best. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality and delicious sausages!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We recently stayed for 8 very cold and snowy days at this lovely, snug property. What a treat it was to walk to the local pub through a winter wonderland, to enjoy a delicious roast meal ! In fact, the food here in Shropshire is one of the many highlights of this part of the country. The whole family enjoyed the Middle Farm sausages, and the locally produced apple juice and spicy ketchup were also a big hit.
With stunning "black and white" villages, fossil walks, and loads of National Trust places nearby, we vow to return in warmer weather to enjoy more walks, and the outside seating area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, quality of accommodation.
Liked least: Poor mobile signal.But you can get a weak signal in some parts of the house.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words. It was such a pleasure having you here, you really made the most of the weather! We would of course be delighted to welcome you back again at a warmer time of year. Thanks again. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: high quality of furniture/fittings
Liked least: no open fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jan 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words about The Barn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much and would be delighted to see you again some time in the future. All the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EMHertfor...
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gooseyard Cottage-Beautiful, highly recommend”
Reviewed 27 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful surroundings, Cottage was amazing didn't want for anything and the 'welcome' rock cakes and tea and coffee a lovely touch. High quality of furnishings added to a lovely long weekend. Sam and Duncan could not do enough for us, made us so welcome. We ordered food from the deli which was delivered for our arrival, very very nice, also treated myself to a massage in the cottage which was amazing! Looking forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind words. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and even more so that you want to come back. Thank you. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First Class”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We have again come back to one of the best holiday rentals you could wish to choose(19) visit.We stayed in the Barn accomodation this time,and words fail me.The total package is perfect,you wont for nothing,Sam and Duncan ensure that all your needs are catered for.Well done,see you again later in the year.
Kind Regards
Bob & Martyn the fishermen from Cheshire

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2012
Thank you both so much for your extremely generous review. The pleasure is all ours and we always look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$225
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing