We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$181
TravelocityUS$181
Orbitz.comUS$181
CheapTicketsUS$181
TripadvisorUS$181
Priceline
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
106
58
22
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
106
58
22
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family suite lamb shank cullen skink twin room amazing views couple of nights both nights excellent food sea view menu colin bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2020

Stayed one night as part of my NC500 tour. Bedroom was a good size and the bed was VERY comfortable, with a window over looking the bay. Small TV in the room and the shower worked fine, WiFi was fast and easy to connect to

Didn't stay for dinner as assumed they were shut in the evening, so only had breakfast - which was fine, reasonable sized full Scottish which is cooked to order and they have cereals you can help yourself to whilst you wait.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TinoBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020

Me my partner and 12 year old daughter are just back from our second 2 night stay at the Millcroft and couldn’t fault it.
We stayed in the family suite on the top floor.Spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Great views from this room and we even spotted dolphins!
We ate both nights in the hotel dining room good choice and excellent food.
Breakfast was equally as good.
Colin the owner is friendly and welcoming as are all his staff.
Can’t wait to return and would have no hesitation in recommending.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carnival01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2020

Had booked a window table for wedding anniversary But arrived to find that nobody has written this down and were told that as hotel guests get priority we couldnt have our window seat. We were then shown to a dingy table in the bar. Ordered drinks and perused menu but when we came to order were told that 3 items were sold out as they ‘had been busy’! Also that ‘the nearest shops are 75 miles away’ - interesting when their USP was ‘local produce’!!. At this point we paid for our drinks and got up and left. Definately wouldnt rush back.

Room tip: Dont bother - go somewhere else
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Service
Thank Shrew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millcroft Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Millcroft, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2020

Good morning,

It is always disappointing to read walk in guests negative reviews.

We just wanted to clarify that you never actually mentioned to any of the staff when you arrived that this was your wedding anniversary or indeed when you booked your table and although no one knew this the staff kindly upgraded you to our best dinning area which only has window seating available and this was confirmed to myself by your waitress who served yourself on this occasion.
As the hotel has been at full capacity with accommodation and guests dinning we do occasionally run out of supplies, now this could be something as simple as tomatoes which we unfortunately don't grow ourselves due to the Scottish climate so yes occasional round trips to top up with supplies is required.
We have social distancing in place to try and keep everyone as safe and as comfortable as is possible but occasionally this does not please everyone unfortunately.

Thanks and regards,

Millcroft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020

Stayed in room 21 a family suite which was 1 double room a twin room and a small living room area, a very modern shower room with a huge shower. This room was perfect for us as we were traveling in a party of 3. The room was fresh, clean and well equipped. We had dinner at the hotel which was lovely and arrived promptly. Yes the staff are young but were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was also good. Actually no complaints at all and amazing views. Would deffinately go back and recommend to others.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alybong69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2020

Me and my partner stayed here one night during the NC500. We were in room 25 which was wonderful, with an amazing view, I have attached a pic of our morning view.
The food in the restaurant was lovely (highly recommend the chowder)
Bev was wonderful, she checked us in and served our food.
When we checked out we met the owner who was lovely and friendly.
Thank you for a lovely stay :)

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RobynNicole123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews