We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$182
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$182
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$182
US$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/01
TravelocityUS$182
Orbitz.comUS$182
Trip.comUS$181
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
106
58
22
25
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
106
58
22
25
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family suite lamb shank cullen skink twin room amazing views couple of nights both nights excellent food sea view menu colin bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2020

Me my partner and 12 year old daughter are just back from our second 2 night stay at the Millcroft and couldn’t fault it.
We stayed in the family suite on the top floor.Spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Great views from this room and we even spotted dolphins!
We ate both nights in the hotel dining room good choice and excellent food.
Breakfast was equally as good.
Colin the owner is friendly and welcoming as are all his staff.
Can’t wait to return and would have no hesitation in recommending.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carnival01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2020

Had booked a window table for wedding anniversary But arrived to find that nobody has written this down and were told that as hotel guests get priority we couldnt have our window seat. We were then shown to a dingy table in the bar. Ordered drinks and perused menu but when we came to order were told that 3 items were sold out as they ‘had been busy’! Also that ‘the nearest shops are 75 miles away’ - interesting when their USP was ‘local produce’!!. At this point we paid for our drinks and got up and left. Definately wouldnt rush back.

Room tip: Dont bother - go somewhere else
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Service
Thank Shrew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millcroft Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Millcroft, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2020

Good morning,

It is always disappointing to read walk in guests negative reviews.

We just wanted to clarify that you never actually mentioned to any of the staff when you arrived that this was your wedding anniversary or indeed when you booked your table and although no one knew this the staff kindly upgraded you to our best dinning area which only has window seating available and this was confirmed to myself by your waitress who served yourself on this occasion.
As the hotel has been at full capacity with accommodation and guests dinning we do occasionally run out of supplies, now this could be something as simple as tomatoes which we unfortunately don't grow ourselves due to the Scottish climate so yes occasional round trips to top up with supplies is required.
We have social distancing in place to try and keep everyone as safe and as comfortable as is possible but occasionally this does not please everyone unfortunately.

Thanks and regards,

Millcroft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020

Stayed in room 21 a family suite which was 1 double room a twin room and a small living room area, a very modern shower room with a huge shower. This room was perfect for us as we were traveling in a party of 3. The room was fresh, clean and well equipped. We had dinner at the hotel which was lovely and arrived promptly. Yes the staff are young but were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was also good. Actually no complaints at all and amazing views. Would deffinately go back and recommend to others.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alybong69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2020

Me and my partner stayed here one night during the NC500. We were in room 25 which was wonderful, with an amazing view, I have attached a pic of our morning view.
The food in the restaurant was lovely (highly recommend the chowder)
Bev was wonderful, she checked us in and served our food.
When we checked out we met the owner who was lovely and friendly.
Thank you for a lovely stay :)

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RobynNicole123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2020

Arrived and was met by friendly staff. It went rapidly downhill after that.
Was told that we had a table reserved for dinner, just to give them a time we wanted.
Went down to restaurant and was told there was no table available and we'd have to eat in the bar. Checked restaurant and there were tables! Went through to bar and was met by 3 stinking and drunk fishermen cursing and swearing....just what you need for having a nice meal.
Starters arrived and were inedible, handed them back and waited 40 minutes for main course, it never arrived. Left the restaurant with no food that evening. Breakfast was even worse, how on earth can you burn scrambled eggs!
Was given excuse that they did not have a chef!
On checkout was given a couple of excuses and told by Colin (manager) that he wouldn't be pleased with what we received! Avoid at all cost.

Room tip: Find another hotel. The room was good but not worth the pain of eating there.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colb5661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millcroft Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Millcroft, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Hello Sir,

We are always sorry to hear about genuine complaints and we can say that on this occasion you did not receive the level of quality one should expect.

Since your departure our new chef has arrived to replace our last chef who left due to personal issues as we did explain to you. Since the arrival of our new chef we are delighted to say we have received nothing but glowing compliments.

We have also now utilised both dinning areas solely for our in house guests to meet the increasing demands, the use of the bar area for dinning is now purely for walk in dinners only.

Best regards,

Millcroft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews