We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best view in the world”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Quiraing

Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
View towards torridon mountains small pets welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Front of House
View towards torridon mountains
small pets welcome
beinn eighe
boat trips
stroll at the beach
House in middle of picture
kitchen
view towards skye
view from house across the gairloch bay
view to skye
childrens playpark 50 yards from the house
front bedroom
bathroom
corridor
open fire and freeview tv
twin bedroom
front view double bedroom
double bedroom with shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
janiceral...
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Adequate accommodation as a base for touring the area.”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Accommodation is ok for a week or a short break holiday, certainly wouldn't want too stay any longer. Sofa and chairs were comfortable in the lounge/dining area but rest of furniture including lounge and kitchen area can only be described as functional. Garden good but again could do with some garden furniture. As I said, an ok base for touring.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms J N
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best view in the world”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely cottage with a sea and mountain view out of the living room window, there was even a telescope set up. Children's play park opposite also. Cottage was clean, warm and had everything we needed. Gairloch is a beautiful village will definitely visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for such a nice review which is very much appreciated.
Gairloch is particularly beautiful with the stunning recent weather and looking good for a long hot summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alba o
portland oregon
2 reviews
“Cozy, great location , view and value.”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were struck by the friendliness and prompt, reassuring replies to our emails by the owner. Upon arriving, we were enchanted by the coziness of the living room with an expansive view of the bay. The beds were full size, clean and comfortable. The house can sleep 6, with full beds in 2 rooms, and a third room with 2 single beds. There is a washing machine but no dryer. The kitchen is small, with an electric kettle for tea, a French press for coffee, and a great toaster for delicious locally baked bread. We usually ate at home, but local cafes and restaurants are plentiful. The area abounds in varied terrains for daily hikes. The single bathroom was equipped with a long tub and efficient shower. We never ran out of hot water. We enjoyed a great seafood meal at the Myrtle Bank hotel, got to know the local butcher, and found ample supplies, including cheeses and smoked salmon at the local store. The location of the house was ideal as a base for short drives to hikes in the Torridon and Loch Maree areas, and a visit to the gorgeous gardens at Inverewe. Local hikes to the Flowerdale waterfall, as well as the great rocky and sand beaches in Gairloch were pleasant. I also went for a cruise on a glass bottom boat and learnt a lot from the skipper Richard about sea life. We drove (2.5 hr) on a very clear day to the island of Skye. On very windy and rainy days we had the luxury of reading a book, watching TV, or Skyping with friends - Wi-Fi is good but only towards the window in dining room area. We were very happy with our stay at Quirang.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M M
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, good facilities but adequate heating limited to living room”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay in this well positioned house. Facilities were good except the heating which was less than adequate for the time of year. Storage heating in living room was sufficient but the only two other storage heaters, in hall and kitchen, did not come close to providing enough warmth to the rest of the house. We lit the log fire each evening which provided no more than a faint warmth via the back boiler to the radiators. Thank goodness there were electric blankets and warm duvets. In all except the coldest month's of the year, I'm sure this house would be perfectly comfortable. We were also under the impression from the Holiday Lettings website that there was a freezer but this is merely an ice box in the fridge.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewrigh...
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Quirang is ideally located with local shops, chemist, hotels, gift shops, etc all within easy walking distance, as is a stony beach only 100 yards away. The main beach in Gairloch - Golf Course Beach is superb and is also within walking distance. There is another smaller beach nearer the cottage (just opposite Gairloch Hotel) which is good, but not a patch on the main one.
The cottage is spacious and bright, with a lovely garden to sit in when the weather is fine. Off road parking for two cars is also a benefit. The interior is fairly basic and dated, but more than adequate. The views from the front rooms are superb, helped by the telescope but slightly spoiled by some double glazing units needing replaced - the seals have gone resulting in condensation/marks. There is an open fire in the main room for use with coal and/or wood, as well as storage/convector heating and radiators (although we couldn't figure out how the radiators worked). The TV reception and picture quality was excellent, the wi-fi a bit variable. The beds were comfortable and the towels were new. The en-suite comprises a shower and wash hand basin, but no toilet. Only other down side was the terrible noise for almost three minutes after the toilet was flushed - the water pipes vibrate and could be heard throughout the cottage! We were advised that a plumber had been asked to fix the problem. Instructions for the washing machine would be helpful and a guestbook for comments, recommendations, etc would be worth having.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!
Liked least: The noise from the toilet!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2013
Many thanks for your review.
The wi-fi signal is from the radio station and they are currently investing in a higher antenna with a more powerful signal which should result in a very good service at the house in future. The double glazed windows have been measured up recently to be replaced. The noise from the toilet flushing is related to water pressure and a plumber has been contacted to fix this. A visitors book has also been ordered.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing