We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab location, house is spacious yet cosy”
other travellers have booked this property
view of house from harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of house from harbour
setting in Flowerdale Glen Beach and golf course
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
view of house from harbour
setting in Flowerdale Glen
Beach and golf course
sunset view from house
kitchen- new for 2015
dining kitchen
sea view en suite bedroom
en suite twin bedroom- upgraded 2015
lounge downstairs
The house looks across the small fishing harbour towards Skye
our favourite local beach
lounge opens onto balcony with sea views
double en suite with sea views
Avoid the crowds on one of many local beaches
downstairs snug with open fire
dining room with woodburner
large upstairs lounge opening onto deck
upstairs lounge
Nearby mountains
view from deck
lounge deck
view from the house over the local harbour
House is on the North West 500 route.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Figgy S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab location, house is spacious yet cosy”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We arrived after a breathtaking drive up from Edinburgh via Inverness. Impressed by the space plus we all loved our own ensuites. Alison provided a warm welcome and also some tips on activities.
Beds v.comfy
Beautiful views from front bedrooms and the upper decking
Would recommend:
Pony Trekking at Red Point, another beautiful spot and our girls rode down to the beach, plus the welfare of the ponies was of a high standard.
Canoeing with Conor at Ewe Canoe
Gairloch beach - walk over the hill so need to go via road
Mellon uldrigle - seriously wow beach
Bein Eighe mountain - well marked paths
Walk from house up to Flowerdale falls
Chippy in gairloch
Dining experience was sadly mediocre in the neighbouring Old Inn, and the Badachro Inn

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel W
1 review
“Everything we needed for a great holiday”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Big rambling house ideal for family reunion holiday. Beautiful coastal location next to pub and shops with fantastic varied natural landscapes close at hand. A good place too to get away to straight after the Referendum catastrophe.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M
Bannockburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House was perfect location and size”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My friends and I have just come back from a visit to Gairloch and surrounding towns and villages and this house was great for our needs - plenty parking, superb views, wee pub next door and excellent hosts - very knowledgeable in the area. The house had two sitting rooms and the big one had a fantastic deck looking over the harbour and we had gorgeous sunsets to view - the kitchen was nicer than my one at home and loads of room for dining too - I would not hesitate in returning again - excellent choice we made.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location especially if you like walking as we do
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCfromKen...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding house for a large group”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Birchwood is an ideal house for a group of up to 8 people, as it is well situated, very well presented, and is really spacious and comfortable.

Gairloch is a good centre and Birchwood's central yet quiet position makes it a really practical base for a whole range of activities.

We were all very impressed with the practicality and comfort of the accommodation. Each double bedroom has its own ensuite bathroom and there is an extra one for good measure. The beds are comfortable, there is storage space for clothes and also plenty of room to put wet gear, muddy boots etc if necessary. Two living rooms and a balcony allow very generous relaxation space and there is TV, a DVD player and WiFi. The kitchen has been recently refitted to a very high standard and we were easily able to cook a variety of meals - or there are various good possibilities for eating out in the area. It's easy to put some heating on if needed, and the house is well lit, well carpeted and generally, really comfortable.

Allison and John were consistently friendly and welcoming, helpful and practical.

Everyone agreed that this is an excellent holiday house and we highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spaciousness, comfort and practicality of Birchwood House
Liked least: there was nothing we didn't like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry B
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent week at Birchwood”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from running a landscape photography workshop based at Birchwood. The house was an ideal venue for a small-sized group and it is surrounded by the superb Highland landscapes of Loch Maree, Glen Torridon, and Gairloch round to Gruinard Bay. All are within easy reach. The newly installed heating system meant the house was always warm and there was plenty of hot water as well. Providing replacement wellies when one of the photographers discovered a leak in theirs was appreciated, as was washing a set of clothes when one slipped into a loch. Importantly, the house was good value for the week. It’s not the Torridon Hotel, but that’s not what I wanted and I shall be returning for more of the same next year.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing