We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for a chill out and activity...”
other traveller has booked this property
Mayar Bhan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mayar Bhan
Mayar Bhan looking North to Assynt Mayar Bhan looking South
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Mayar Bhan
Mayar Bhan looking North to Assynt
Mayar Bhan looking South
Living Room
Conservatory #1
Upstairs Double Bedroom
View
Downstairs Double Bedroom
Living Room & Kitchen
Banana Bench
Upstairs twin bedroom
Conservatory #2
Kitchen
North West aspect
Sunset looking from the Patio
View from upstairs bedroom
Seaview
Gruinard Bay view
Mellon Udrigle Beach
Looking Upstairs
House Front
Mayar Bhan from high up
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Sharon M
1 review
“Perfect location for a chill out and activity based holiday”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This house is well situated for outdoor activities such as cycling, hiking and kite flying with its close proximity to some outstanding beaches, road routes and mountains. The view from the house lends itself to a chill out day if the weather isn't so favourable. The information provided pointed us in the right direction for local eateries and we very much enjoyed the Aultbea Hotel which provided excellent food and service. We also enjoyed a day trip to Ullapool and had the best fresh fish street food. The house is very well kitted out and we would highly recommend a stay at Mayar Bhan and hope to return some time to do all the things we didn't have time to do during our holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeH22
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ourstanding”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fantastic week in a fantastic location, despite the weather (it is Scotland!) we had a fabulous week based here exploring the north west coast. We covered Applecross in the South to the Drumbeg loop in the North and everything in between from this location. Lovely touch leaving the wine and caramel wafers - thank you Neil! Communication from booking to arrival was spot on as was the house itself - couldn't fault it. I'll leave you with a couple of views from the house...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLatona
Tayport, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Accommodation with Stunning Views”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Mayar Bhan is an outstanding property. Inside it is bright, airy and a delightful place to be, whether sitting with your feet up on a comfy chair or sofa looking out across Gruinard Bay to the Summer Isles and the mountains of Inverpolly or sitting at the breakfast bar enjoying a coffee or beer or (if like me you like to cook) enjoying preparing food in the beautiful spacious and well equipped kitchen or watching the family of swallows in the eves come and go in July/August. The fixtures, fittings, furniture and artwork throughout the property are stylish and of high quality.

The owners have taken great care and thought in ensuring the every aspect of our stay was perfect from the property itself to good communication throughout booking and advice about places to eat and things to do in the area. The welcome pack is very extensive. Mayar Bhan is holiday property which is hard to beat (and I've been to a lot of lovely properties around the Highlands over the years). We loved our week and were genuinely sad to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucylarkm...
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Scottish secret escape”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent a fantastic week in this wonderfully cosy, yet light and airy house. The view is beautifully breath taking and with the large deck and large garden, its the perfect set up. The house itself is well equipped with high quality furnishings and everything you could possibly need - there is really nothing that could be done better.
The location offers all you need for an active family holiday with stunning beaches and amazing scenery. Can't recommend enough but would prefer to keep it a secret! Would love to return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janem94
Fife, Scotland, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“have left a piece of my heart and soul there”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Neil, the owner of this beautiful house, was very friendly, helpful, responded quickly and provided detailed and knowledgeable information to all our communications.
The house was well equipped, comfortable, very warm (even on the dull/rainy days we had) and had fantastic views of the sea, islands and mountains. Pictures don't do the house or views justice.
The local post office/petrol station/shop was well stocked and exceedingly friendly.
The area provides an abundance of places to walk/run/cycle and visit and numerous places to eat.
Looking forward to returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm, comfortable house with fantastic views.
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing