We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$296
Hotels.comUS$283
PricelineUS$296
eDreamsUS$296
CheapTicketsUS$283
TravelocityUS$281
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
233
78
33
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
78
33
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crash site dining room gin bar wine list venison huge selection of whisky set menu hotel is beautifully situated open fire wonderful hotel small hotel amazing views local produce each evening scottish hospitality loch view our room was spacious
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our NC500 honeymoon trip and unfortunately it was our least favourite out of the 8 hotels we stayed in. We had really high hopes and expectations for this hotel (probably mainly due to the cost) but we felt it just didn’t deliver.

A stunning location and the downstairs of the hotel is great but we feel we must have had the worst room in the hotel. It was at the end of a very dark corridor (we had to use our phones as a torch to use the key it was that dark!!) and the room was so pokey it was a real struggle to get in and out with two big suitcases. For what we paid we just didn’t think the room justified the price tag. The bathroom and bed were also very small and it just wasn’t a room you’d want to spend much time in.

We ate dinner in the restaurant and opted for the 3 courses. For us the starters and pudding were very below average but the main course (veal) was incredible - lucky really as otherwise we would have been hesitant to pay the £135 bill!

The bar was good with a great range of whiskeys and gin and the front of the hotel offers a great view. Staff were helpful but out of the 8 hotels we stayed in they were the only ones not to even mention a congratulations or do anything considering it was our honeymoon (not expecting an upgrade but just a mention would have been nice!)

Overall I think the disappointing room tarnished our stay here which was a shame so had we had a different room I think we would have been much for satisfied!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katiewilsonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Laing, Marketing at Shieldaig Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2021

Dear Katiewilsonsmith,

Thank you for your honest review and for taking the time to share your experience. We are really saddened to learn that you thought your stay with us created a disappointing end to your honeymoon trip. Please let us apologise for the inconveniences you faced which left you feeling as though your room & stay was not good value for money, and please feel assured that your comments will be taken on board in order to improve our services. Nonetheless, it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed a lovely three-course dinner and our well-stocked whiskey bar - this is one of our greatest quirks!

We apologise again that your stay didn't meet your expectations, but we do hope you will come back and give us a second try in the future.

Congratulations from everyone here at Shieldaig Lodge!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2021

2nd stay here, first visit October 2020. Service superb hotel beautiful and food outstanding. Can’t wait to go back. Probably our favourite hotel, hits every mark every time.

Without doubt the best food I’ve ever had and the location a short cycle or drive to red point beach makes it unbeatable.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hoodp10shade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Laing, Marketing at Shieldaig Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear Hoodp10shade,

Thank you for your wonderful 5* review! It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed a brilliant stay with us here at Shieldaig and that you thought the food was was the best you've ever had - Fantastic news!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2021

This was our 2nd visit to the hotel and we had another lovely stay. Room 1 was overlooking the car park area and a good size and very well appointed. The heated floor in the bathroom was a delight to stand on!
The staff were so lovely and friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The hotel looks onto a bay where the fresh fish is caught and served in the hotel.
We had a 3 course meal which costs £49 per person and worth what you pay for sure. The food is excellent. There is a small choice offered which is what you want when everything is so fresh. Recommend the Monkfish as it’s lovely.
The waiting staff are all very friendly and hard working, as it was a busy place with people eating both for meals and breakfast.
Very clean and lots of sanitiser around.
The sitting areas in the hotel are nice and airy and there are 2 lounges, a bar with seating and a snooker room.
Would recommend to stay here.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Laing, Marketing at Shieldaig Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear Sheila M,

Thank you for your brilliant 5* review and for taking the time to share your experiences, it is greatly appreciated! It is fantastic to learn that you enjoyed a really fantastic stay with us here at Shieldaig, it was a pleasure to host you!

Thank you ever so much for your kind recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again really soon!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2021 via mobile

The ground floor is as expected in a luxury hotel with the most wonderful views.
However, the room didn’t follow with the same quality .
The antique wardrobes suited the room , but the tissue paper wedged to allow the doors to close was shoddy .
One door handle came off in my hand .
The food in the restaurant was superb and cannot fault the whiskey but if as much attention to the bedrooms were shown as in the public areas then this would have given a better experience

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank malcolmcC5367BI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Laing, Marketing at Shieldaig Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear malcolmcC5367BI,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experiences. We are sorry to hear that you thought the quality of your room let down you stay, we will be sure to make a note of your comments regarding the door handle and see to this immediately. It is a delight however to hear that you were impressed with our fantastic views and the excellent food & service in our restaurant.

We do hope you'll come back and see us again soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2021

We cannot thank everyone at Shieldaig Lodge enough for making our wedding so perfect. After having to delay by a year due to Covid , Lisa and the team provided such warm hospitality and ensured that the day ran smoothly organising everything from the food, to the flowers and even arranging a piper to play for us!

We chose the elopement package and came up to stay with 10 guests, marrying on the lawn overlooking the loch with perfect weather. All the guests were very impressed with the rooms (the sunsets over the loch are spectacular) and are still raving about the food. We also had falconry on the lawn the night before which was great fun for all ages and we would highly recommend.

Truly a stay that we will never forget.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 871sammieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Laing, Marketing at Shieldaig Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear 871sammieh,

Thank you for your excellent 5* review and for choosing to celebrate your special day with us here at Shieldaig Lodge! We are so thrilled to learn that Lisa and her team made your day so special for you and your family. It is a delight to learn that your stay was one you will truly never forget, wow! We will be sure to share your kind words with the team!

Many congratulations once again!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews