We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
193
232
161
84
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
193
232
161
84
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view itison deal a bit tired haggis the ground floor stunning location tea and coffee inverewe gardens evening meal stayed for one night enjoyable stay road trip lovely view stuart scotland menu skye
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 736 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Beautiful setting which is why I think they manage to survive. Rooms tired, they have tried putting up new curtains but the thin blue fabric is cheap and nasty. Terrible smell wafting in the window from outside in the morning at the back of the hotel. Covid measures are pointless when they run a buffet breakfast which I found quite shocking. Dozens and dozens of people using the tongs etc to pick up the food, and we watched a mask less boy wandering along the cold buffet using his hands to eat out of the bowls. We left after eating cereal using the spoons from our table. Paid for dinner bed and breakfast only to be told after booking that there was a £20 limit on dinner not mentioned in the booking process, I am not sure that is actually legal . Restaurant staff were lovely, clearly a good team, management/owners need to give them a break and up food standards. Food used is cheap and horrible, menus basic and uninspired. Such a shame with the staff they have, it could be so much better. Sadly would not go back, forget the setting and stay elsewhere. Not sure why or how ‘Bespoke’ have them as one of their hotels, clearly a chain name to avoid!

Room tip: May be ok to get your head down but food not worth it.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Barney17a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Sutherland , General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Dear Barney17a,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Gairloch Hotel, I am sorry your expectations at the Gairloch were not met on this occasion. The hotel is at present having some refurbishment work done, However I am surprised by your comments,
i must state we quite clearly state hands are to be sanitized before use of equipment in the restaurant and i am investigating why the young child was wandering along the table un-supervised, but children under 12 are exempt from wearing a mask at the moment.
the hotel regularly gets good reviews on the warmth and friendliness of the building wIth many guests returning time after time. Thank you again for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Hotel in excellent position with amazing views. It may be an old hotel but full of character , well maintained & very clean. Check in was friendly & efficient. Room was nice shower lacked pressure but bed was comfortable. Food was good enjoyed all meals. Breakfast was brilliant nice buffet. Staff were excellent very efficient & helpful.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deent2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Sutherland , General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Dear deent2019,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future.
Thank you again
Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Gairloch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021

Four night stay at the gairloch the hotel was in a picturesque location and has great views over the bay beach 2 minutes from hotel book in was very efficient and all covid protocols were carried out efficiently room was clean and of a good size also had large bathroom food evening meal and breakfast were really good and the breakfast menu was of a very high standard the staff in the hotel were superb helpful courteous and always willing to help the manager should be very proud of them would highly recommend a stay at this hotel if you are in thevarea

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank 127dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Sutherland , General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Dear 127dave,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future.
Thank you again
Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Gairloch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2021 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay. Rooms were nice and very clean. We had sea view rooms and the view was beautiful. Very relaxing to look out on to.
Breakfast was buffet style which we were surprised about although hand gel was available. Breakfast was ok. Croissants were great though! Dining room was big and felt a bit canteen like.
Staff were very nice and helpful.
People were smoking outside of the hotel entrance which was completely off putting. This was on arrival, when we went out for a walk and on departure. Surely the hotel can make a specific area in another place rather than the main entrance.

Room tip: Gairloch museum was nice to look around. Farm shop and visitor centre. Not much else in Gairloch.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Smootings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Sutherland , General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Dear Smootings,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming
Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.
you all back in the not too distant future.
Thank you again
Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Gairloch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2021 via mobile

To start off, they had no record of us bringing our dog, although I had previously phoned the hotel to make sure this was OK, and request a room on as low a floor as possible, bit of a shambles at check in. We ended up 2 flights up, lift wasn't the best, and didn't go to every floor so we used stairs more often than not. Not bad looking hotel, but the view & it's location is definitely what sells it. Dinner was so-so, nothing to get excited about. Breakfast was buffet style, food was cooked well and temperature was fine. Room was fairly small, needing a bit of work done, general wear & tear, the taps in bathroom had no tops, light in bathroom had no cover, and you could see the old wallpaper had just been painted over, could see the old colours/patterns underneath. For a very small room it was made worse by the amount of furniture it it too.

Room tip: Plenty parking space,
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lynj2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas Sutherland , General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Dear lynj2211,

I was concerned to read that you had several issues with your room that you were allocated.
I have reported all the shortfalls to our maintenance team who will now rectified the situation and would like to join me in apologizing for these issues.
I would once again like to apologise and hope your points raised will help us continue to improve,

Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews