We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
116
156
102
59
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
156
102
59
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view quiet lounge evening entertainment dining room a bit tired long journey haggis isle of skye great holiday the ground floor beautiful scenery porridge the staff were friendly and helpful wonderful location stayed for one night enjoyable stay shearings
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location with views over the Loch. The hotel is a little tired in its decors and has obviously seen better days. We booked the included dinner option on the first night and this was quite good value. The wall of the lift is carpeted which makes it feel very claustrophobic. It is ok accommodation for a couple of nights .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank I_Love_Holidays20118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear I_Love_Holidays20118,

Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future.
Thank you again
Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Gairloch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

I booked last minute as my teenage sons and I made our way around the NC500. The hotel was a welcome sight after we had spent a few night wild camping !
No problems parking a long wheel base Transit in the hotel car park, smooth and quick check in, reception staff great, and headed up to our room, which was clean and cosy.
After a good shower - and the shower is a bit weak in room 120 - I nipped down to the bar. It’s well stocked with a good selection of drinks, crisps and cookies. Plenty of places to sit and chat inside or head out to view the Loch immediately over the road.
We all had a good nights sleep, followed by breakfast the following morning, which previous reviewers have described, and we found very agreeable, along with excellent attentive staff. Check out was no hassle.
I would recommend this hotel, but we only stayed one night. Location is amazing !!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Nick W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future.
Thank you again
Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Gairloch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Stayed for one night and the views and location were perfect. The hotel is old, but our room had definitely been updated in the past 4 years. The shower was hot, the windows opened to let the sea air in and the internet worked well. The restaurant served a good variety of food that was tasty. It was a close walk to the coffee shop in town, book store and stores.

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the Sea
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyMC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear LesleyMC14,


Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future.
Thank you again
Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Gairloch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and the location and views from the hotel were stunning!

The hotel looks very outdated and the rooms were very basic. Our room had a sea view but there was a constant draft from the windows with the sea breeze. We had to leave to heater on in the room at all times. The shower had very poor pressure so the water trickled out.

Breakfast was included with our stay. Couldn’t fault the cooked Scottish breakfast but slightly poor on the continental side - only bread for roasting, a few cereals and dried fruit.

Overall our stay was average for the money we paid. The location of the hotel would make us return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lauren_wilson96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Lauren_wilson96,

I was very concerned to have received your comments and would like to offer my genuine apologies to you for such a disappointing stay.

I was concerned to read that you had several issues with your room that you were allocated.
I have reported all the shortfalls to our maintenance team who have now rectified the situation and would like to join me in apologising for these issues. I sincerely hope that despite these issues that you found some positives during your stay at the Gairloch Hotel.

Thank you for highlighting these issues, we take all feedback constructively at the Gairloch Hotel and I will be using your comments to ensure that these issues do not reoccur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We stayed here as a one night booking with friends whilst touring the west coast. Its on the NC500 and makes a convenient location to overnight. This hotel has been taken over in the last couple of years and is going through a makeover. Its a huge place of the victorian style and overlooks the Loch. Views are stunning. Access to unspoilt beaches is easy (we did a plastic search and couldn't find anything which was a surprise).
The rooms are of a good size (we booked twins overlooking the sea) but have clearly been given a budget makeover with new carpets and a lick of paint. Bathrooms recently refurbished - but maybe not the plumbing as one room had a shower - more of a dribble.
Heating not yet done and windows need replacement.Car parking is OK but as the hotel fills it runs out of space and you need to use the rear and drive. A 24hour fuel station is directly next door.
The best surprise was the restaurant...although the breakfast was 'adequate' the evening meal was superb, at the service teams super-efficient. By repute( I asked) .. a resident German chef and the standard was very good. We are going back ... its a three star at best with some plusses and minuses but overall just the ticket.

Room tip: ask for a sea view... think twice if its cold weather .... heating not sorted
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vpsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, General Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Vpsteve,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
Thank you for such a kind review, we are very happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you again
Gairloch Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Gairloch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews