We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful gem of a place”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage patio area in a peaceful woodland garden with wildlife.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage patio area in a peaceful woodland garden with wildlife.
Midwood Cottage in Alnmouth with garden, parking, bike shed, and tree house. 4 Star Gold rated.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Cottage patio area in a peaceful woodland garden with wildlife.
Midwood Cottage in Alnmouth with garden, parking, bike shed, and tree house. 4 Star Gold rated.
Patio area in the woodland garden
5 minutes walk to Alnmouth beach.
Open plan lounge kitchen diner with dish washer and washer drier. Free WIFI and Netflix
Midwood Cottage open plan lounge kitchen diner with dish washer and washer drier. Free WIFI
Lovely super king size bed with en suite shower room. TV in bedroom.
En suite shower room in the Cottage
Large shared garden with tree house
The river Aln - 5 minutes walk to the estuary and beach.
View to Alnmouth from the estuary
The pretty painted houses of Lovaine Terrace in Alnmouth. You can see themfr om the train.
The beach at Alnmouth, paradise!
Our tree house
Car port for our Cottage guests
Sun in the garden
Sunny patio with tree house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alnmouth, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joanlawso...
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful gem of a place”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have had a fabulous restful holiday in the Cottage. Just what we needed. The Cottage has everything that you could possibly need. It is sparklingly clean and cosy and perfect for a couple. As it is all on one level it is perfect for us.
We loved the village tea shops and the lovely little circular walk around the village and returning by 'Lovers Walk.'
The welcome tray was a very thoughtful touch, and much appreciated. We hope to visit Northumberland again soon as there is so much to see and do. We enjoyed trips to Warkworth and Alnwick and managed to take the bus which was really easy. Thank you Christine and Louise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We try to make the Cottages a 'home from home' and it is great to hear your lovely comments and they are very much appreciated. We will pass on your good wishes to the rest of the team involved, they will be delighted. Thank you very much, Christine and Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucaspatr...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very well appointed cottage”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Tucked away down a private lane a short walking distance from both very good local shops and wonderful beaches.
As soon as you walk into Midwood Cottage you can see why it has a Gold Star Rating. It caters for all your needs with attention to detail to make your stay very pleasant and cosy.
A welcome pack left by the owners was a surprise and was well appreciated.
The garden was a good place to relax and unwind with a glass of wine from the welcome pack.The garden is a great place for any child to enjoy the tree house and monkey swing when stay at Midwood Lodge.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate your kind words and we will let the whole team know that you enjoyed your stay in Midwood Cottage in Alnmouth. It is great to know that you liked the beaches, the Cottage, the location and the village. Alnmouth really is a special place. Thank you. Christine, Louise and our wonderful team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H
1 review
“A Wonderful Home from Home”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was our first experience of renting a cottage, as we usually opt for a hotel, and it could not have gone better. The cottage was perfect for our break, as it was beautifully clean, fully equipped and wonderfully cosy. Our arrival was made even better by finding that the hosts, Christine and Louise had provided a freshly baked cake and other goodies. The location could not have been better, just a short walk from the beach and the village has a good choice of cafes, pubs and restaurants. It is also well situated for exploring everything that Northumberland has to offer. Very highly recommended and don't just take our word for it, as there is a guest book in the property which is filled with excellent reviews.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
Hello and thank you for your very kind review. We try to make the Cottage feel like a home from home and so we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will let all the team know as they will all be thrilled. We really appreciate your comments. Thank you very much. Christine and Louise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissScarl...
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We've just returned from a lovely New Year's break in the cottage and weren't disappointed by our first visit to the area.

We were made to feel welcome before we set off with great communication and recommendations from Christine and Louise. This was reaffirmed by a generous welcome pack and even a Christmas tree when we arrived at the cottage in the evening.

The cottage is in a great location with a very short walk to the village's main road, shops and pubs. The beach is gorgeous and is part of a lovely circular walk past the estuary and back to the cottage. Alnmouth is really well placed for exploring the local area and we felt it had just the right balance of peace, but things to do. We met some really friendly people during our visit and even joined locals in a dip in the sea on New Years Day!

The cottage was really comfortable, modern and had everything we needed during our stay. It very much felt like a home from home. There is a large garden at the back from where you could sit and look towards the estuary and great play facilities for children. The garden is shared, but we both commented on how you couldn't hear the visitors in the adjoining lodge. If there were children in the treehouse they would be able to see into the kitchen, but there are good blinds to ensure privacy and we were out everyday so didn't find this a problem. We'd definitely recommend the cottage to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you do much for your lovely review we really appreciate your kind comments as we try to make it a 'home from home'. It is wonderful to know that you felt that it really was like that. We love Alnmouth and you are the first guests, that we know of, who have taken the New Year dip in the sea. Fantastic news, you are so brave!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
194jc14
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Midwood Cottage is in a great location near to several good eateries and shops and in a lovely village with a superb beach. Unfortunately we found the actual cottage did not live up to expectations. Although the interior decor and layout was good and the cottage was clean, it smelt very musty. When we opened the kitchen window the catch fell off (we mended it!) and the shelf in the fridge door was broken and held together with gaffer tape. Although we knew the garden was shared the website gave no indication that the tree house was directly outside one of our windows and that children could be playing outside our back door resulting in balls hitting our windows and doors. Also guests in the other property (and their visitors) had to walk past the windows of the lounge and bedroom giving no privacy or peace! It wasn't the fault of the other guests (who were lovely people) but the website should have given more information about the possibility of being disturbed. We booked through Sand and Castle who haven't asked for any feedback. Sadly this wasn't the luxury accommodation we had expected but we can see that booking the two cottages together would work well for a larger or extended family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The outside area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you taking the time to send in your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed the location and the pretty village of Alnmouth. We take great pride in Midwood Cottage and we do our best to maintain high standards. We offer our sincere apologies that Midwood Cottage didn’t live up to your expectations.

Unfortunately we were unaware of a possible broken window latch until we read your review today, as none of our guests have mentioned it, and during the school holidays we don’t get a chance to stay in the cottage ourselves. Thank you for letting us know.

We are also sorry that the fridge door shelf which holds milk etc had a temporary repair, unfortunately this was because the previous guests had put too much weight on it. We immediately ordered an exact replacement integrated fridge (as we found that we couldn’t simply order a new door). This took a week to arrive as there were none in stock and it has now been installed and fitted. We had considered taking the shelf off altogether but then decided that it might be more useful for guests to have it in place rather than not at all. In hindsight, this was clearly a mistake.

We are terribly sorry that you were disturbed by the children staying in the Lodge; they had then been staying there for 3 weeks of the summer holidays. The shared garden has been very successful in the past but we are very sorry that on this occasion you did not have peace and privacy whilst staying with us.

Just to reassure you that in the 6 years that we have let the property we have never been told of any problems between the guests in the Lodge and Cottage. We are very sorry that you were disturbed.

We will ensure in future that our guests who book via an agency, (which is a very small number of our bookings) have our full contact details and so hopefully they would feel that they can ring us directly if there are any issues.

Finally, we are very, very sorry that you were disappointed with your holiday and we would be more than happy to discuss making amends for the disappointment you have felt. Please do contact us directly by email if possible and we would be pleased to speak to you. Thank you again and we appreciate your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing