We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great stay at Jacksons Cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Alnmouth, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katiecrai...
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great stay at Jacksons Cottage”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week at Jacksons Cottage and couldn't fault it. We stayed at the cottage with my son and his family and had two cars. We didn't find parking a problem we always found a parking space. The cottage has a lovely view of the golf course and sea through the upstairs lounge window, it was a lovely place to sit with a brew and watch the world go by. The kitchen is fitted with everything you need including a washer/dryer which my daughter in law made good use of. The beach is a couple of minutes walk away as is the Red Lion pub which serves lovely food and has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. We are looking to book again for the new year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra J
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED, PARKING A NIGHTMARE - LEFT EARLY DUE TO NOISE.”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Cottage description stated - in centre of Alynmouth. Should have read in centre of main street in Alynmouth. Bus stop really close - very frequent service from early morning to late evening so engine running etc. Also 3 parking spaces right in front of cottage, again constant coming and going but practically impossible to use for the cottage renters unless very lucky.
SO NOISY.
Rear bedroom has very little natural light, opaque glass door to rear alley, so no fresh air, ditto for front bedroom as this window opened onto the pavement/street.
People stood waiting for buses, talking, on mobiles etc and smoking so smoke would drift upstairs into lounge if windows open there.
Operating the electric hob was a nightmare due to safety lock and no brochure to give instructions on how to clear this.
Clean, good beds etc. Owner was very helpful when we arrived to find that the key did not appear to be available from the pub. Fortunately she advised where we could locate one.
We are a mature couple and had just spent a lovely week in a Sykes cottage in the Yorkshire Dales so we found our experience at Jackson's very disappointing to say the least.
We would not want to return to this property.
I agree with another persons comments on the lack of access to many of the coastal towns ,many have signs saying - no vehicles past this point. Not helpful if person has mobility problem.
There is a lovely fish restaurant in Amble.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amiah13
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A delightful cottage, spotlessly clean with everything we needed, the cottage was very comfortable and cosy, amazing view and a fab shower. Located in a lovely little village, with local shops and pubs, and neighbouring places within easy reach. I would highly recommend this cottage, and would certainly book it again if I was to return to the area. A most enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A delightful property in a great position”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We fell in love with the cottage and the area in general. The owner was kind enough to provide us with towels because we were travelling by train and packing minimally. The cottage is clean, inviting and warm with great views from the bay window. It is located on a friendly yet peaceful street. I so enjoyed waking up to the sound of birdsong and spending time people - watching from the bay window. A stone's throw from sandy beach and spectacular views. Also cottage is 50yards from a bus stop, which was so handy for us. Would recommend any of the local eateries, but we particularly enjoyed great food from Bistro 23, who were kind enough to let us have 'takeaway' food even though they don't usually serve it. A great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBUMBLE
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy Christmas with Sea View”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well-appointed & well-kept tce. cottage in centre of Alnmouth. all facilities necessary to enjoy winter week away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Jackson Cottage and would love to have you book with us again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing