We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peeler's Rest”
other travellers have booked this property
Peeler's Rest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peeler's Rest
Lounge area Peeler's Rest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Peeler's Rest
Lounge area
Peeler's Rest
Lounge Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen area
Shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peeler's Rest”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Made very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed myself, Very cosy with everything provided for a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thanks for the review Margaret. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Peeler's Rest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsAJ284
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed here and cannot recommend it enough. Place is spotless and is just like a "home from home" with all the small touches eg. jam in the fridge and other items. These are much appreciated. Bed has to be one of the most comfortable ones we have slept in. The cottage is in an ideal spot for touring the local area and only 11 miles from Whitby. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thanks guys for your wonderful review of Peeler's Rest. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartybo...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Relaxing and Welcoming.”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a week at The Peeler's Rest.

The hosts (Lee and Tess) were friendly, welcoming and very relaxed.
The rental was a small one bedroom bungalow type property attached to the owners house. Clean, well presented it had all the items you would require for a break away. It can sleep 3 however I would suggest the third occupant should only be a small child.
The village of Staithes on the North Yorkshire Coast. A very picturesque fishing village with a rugged coastline. Yes that does mean hills. Some fairly steep hills at times around the whole area.
The Peeler's Rest is in a good location, with Newcastle to the North, Whitby and Scarborough to the South. Flamingo Land and York to the East all easily accessible by car or even bus!
I would highly recommend this part of the country as there is something for everyone. Including steam train buffs. I loved the area and would recommend it to anyone and everyone.
Finally if a quiet, relaxed holiday rental is what you are looking for then I'm sure you would struggle to find anything better than Peeler's Rest. With plenty on your door step but with a remote, quiet and relaxed base you really do have it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Relaxed Hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thanks for the great review and so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthur872
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, comfortable and very relaxing”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely warm Self catering cottage at the top of the street which is Ideally situated and close to nice amenities which are a short walk away. Good that there was parking.
Great place to stay and lots to do if you like walking along the harbour or just relaxing in one of the local pubs etc. Very wet during my stay but did not deter me from enjoying my stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Warm welcome and the comfort of the property
Liked least: Very poor or no mobile phone signal!!!!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for a great review. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki B
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Break in Staithes”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our very first visit to Staithes and it wont be our last. We were given a warm welcome by Lee on arrival at Peelers Rest and were really pleased with the standard of the property. The little touches of tea,coffee and biscuits as well as towels provided made all the difference.
We had fish and chips from the shop next door and they were huge but gorgeous.
We spent all day in Staithes really recommend a visit to Dotty's Vintage Tearooms. We visited the villages 3 pubs and they were all welcoming and friendly. We wanted a truly peaceful, relaxing weekend and its exactly what we had. We will definately be back and will certainly book Peeler's rest again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
Thanks for the wonderful review of your visit to Staithes. We are really pleased you enjoyed the time spent here and we look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing