We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage No3 with the white bay window The cottages - No3 with the white bay window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Cottage No3 with the white bay window
The cottages - No3 with the white bay window
Staithes beck with the Fishermen's cottages on the left
Sitting room
Sitting room and dining area
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Second bedroom
Sunset over Cowbar Nab just behind the cottages
They say this is one of the best views in England - cottage is on the left just above the bridge
Spot the cottage from the other side of the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zoe B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Electricity not included and a dodgy lock”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location, friendly people, good local pubs BUT ....
We arrived late afternoon, took the dog for a walk then sat down for a well earned cup of tea as it got dark. A few minutes later the power went off. There was no phone signal, so we tried to leave the house in search of the (deputising) housekeeper whose details were the only information we found when we arrived. Imagine our horror when we found neither of us could unlock the door! Fortunately we had a torch with us and after searching through a folder of appliance instructions, which we found at the bottom of a cupboard, we found sheet that told us there was a prepay meter and we needed pound coins. We didn't have any!
We did finally manage to unlock the door and get some change from a local pub, but the same problem with the lock recurred twice more during our stay. There were no other ground floor exits so we felt uncomfortable for the rest of the stay.
Could have been a nice stay if we had come prepared with coins, the lock worked reliably and it cost half what it did per night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacBojang...
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here in November 2014 with my partner and my 3 year old little boy. We chose this cottage as it's next door to the cottage used as Old Jack's home in the Cbeebies series Old Jack's Boat - my little boy loves the programme and I'm a great admirer of Bernard Cribbins. It did not disappoint.

The cottage is reached via a rather narrow and steep winding lane - not for the faint-hearted driver!

The cottage is very cosy, quaint and authentic - it has not changed much in a couple of hundred years and is clearly an old fisherman's home. The log burning stove makes for a wonderfully cosy atmosphere even during an extremely wet and cold weekend in November.

The cottage is well equipped - excellent wifi, DVD player and reliable Sky TV are very welcome during long winter evenings.

The location is fantastic too. Two minutes walk from the harbour and the lifeboat station (we met one of the lifeboat crew who went out of his way to involve our little boy in their training session on Sunday). Just over the footbridge are a couple of pubs (The Cod and Lobster was excellent) and a decent bistro (The Endeavour). A perfect place to explore Staithes.

Our criticisms are few. Firstly, the electric shower was consistently erratic - either scalding hot or ice cold - impossible to get a decent shower without dancing in and out of the icy/boiling water.

Secondly, the fact that the second floor bedrooms are accessed by a stairway with only 3 foot (literally) clearance isn't clearly stated. Our three year old son is severely disabled, so clambering up and down from his room was difficult. It's definitely not a place to stay if one is elderly or has mobility issues.

Having said that, we will definitely be returning to Staithes, either to this property or to another one in the the village. It's a lovely place to visit and stay and comes very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Awkward access to top floor bedroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia1...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jack's Cottage was lovely, but because of leaking roof on first day had to move next door which was less salubrious.”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are reviewing this on the cottage we were transferred to, no. 3 Fisherman's cottage.The cottages have huge potential but would recommend some upgrading.
Excellent views and handy for the village shops and pubs

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely cottage - recommended”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for 5 nights at short notice with a toddler, and it was great - lucky with the weather which helped, but Staithes is a lovely place to wander around, and very handy for days out to Whitby, Sandsend and Runswick Bay.

The cottage itself is clean and tidy, and cosy even at the cooler ends of the day. One or two things a bit tired (bits of carpet, the cooker), but just what you'd expect from a holiday cottage, and everything worked and felt safe with a two year old - who loved the different flights of stairs (with close supervision!).

Parking is directly outside, with permit provided. It's on a very steep bank, which requires some confidence with hill starts and parallel parking, but there's more room than it appears at first sight.

One warning - the cliffs around Staithes are populated by at least a few hundred seagulls, so bring earplugs as they start early (although I found them quite relaxing), and don't be too precious about your car paintwork, as it will be decorated within a few days.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal cottage for a quiet break.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

In a lovely position on the sunny side of the beck. The accomodation is very comfortable and the main part of the village is only a few yards away across the footbridge. You can park your car right ouside. The place is nice and warm with plenty of seating and adequate cooking facilities. There is room to sit out with a nice view of the harbour below and the rest of the town across the beck. I cannot fault this cottage at all, in my opinion it is ideal. The only downside is that it is not mine."

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$148
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing