We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The romantic retreat we were looking for. Just...”
other travellers have booked this property
Dunsley has 3 storeys and a private front yard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dunsley has 3 storeys and a private front yard
The bright new kitchen is fully equipped, and has a stable door and open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Dunsley has 3 storeys and a private front yard
The bright new kitchen is fully equipped, and has a stable door and open fire
The bright, new kitchen
A scrubbed pine table takes pride of place for dining
The beautiful bedroom, with brass & iron bed, and chaise longue
Dunsley is a romantic retreat with original artwork. This unique, ceramic heart is from New Zealand
Victorian chaise longue in the beautiful bedroom
High-pressure shower and a Victorian tiled washstand make the bathroom fun, and functional
The sitting room features a flat-screen TV with DVD, comfy sofa and chair, plus well-stocked library
Staithes beach and harbour village
The main street, with pretty painted houses
Staithes beach and harbour
The village seen from Cowbar Nab
View down the river to the harbour; Dunsley is a step to the right
The traditional butcher's shop in the main street also sells veg, eggs and preserves
Pretty Staithes, from Cowbar Nab
On the Cleveland Way, just above Staithes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola P
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The romantic retreat we were looking for. Just perfect!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This lovely cottage is a must for those seeking a peaceful holiday. It had everything that we needed for a perfect stay. The owners had obviously thought carefully about making the stay as comfortable as possible as the cottage had everything we could have possibly needed. It was tastefully furnished, clean and lovely and warm after our day of walking on the coastal path!

The location was perfect too with the harbour and sea and just around the corner. We spent one evening watching the moon on the waves and the stars twinkiling in the clear sky whilst sipping a glass of wine in the local pub. Staithes is a lovely little place with all you require for a relaxing holiday.

The owners were very accommodating and couldn't do enough to make our stay just perfect. We'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the cottage was even better than we imagined.
Liked least: The location and comfortable nature of the cottage.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary P
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super cottage in Staithes”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 for a stay in June 2011

This is a very comfortable cottage, beautifully furnished and well situated in a quiet pedestrian lane off the main high street. Staithes is a lovely place to stay with beautiful coastal and countryside walks straight from the door. There is a variety of shops in the village with a butcher and fishmonger.
The owner was very helpful and l have no hesitation in recommending Dunsley as a holiday destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable cottage to return to after a day out.
Liked least: Lack of parking
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey F
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical little house that is so cosy and romantic.”
Reviewed 4 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Dunsley is an absolute delight. With just one bedroom it is a perfect romantic getaway. The kitchen on the ground floor it is very well equipped and with an open fire, sofa and scrubbed pine dining table where we spent our time. The stable door means you can also watch the world go by. The bed was extremely comfortable in the first floor bedroom. On the second floor is the bathroom and cosy sitting room. The shower in the bathroom is a revelation - being a bath person I was a convert as it was powerful, hot and spacious. The owners have placed eclectic pieces of furniture around the house which are just lovely to discover. The village of Staithes is like a step back in time, with no traffic it is very quiet and with so little light pollution the stars at night from the little beach are like a personal twinkly show. Cannot recommend enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the fixtures and fittings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2012
Thank you so much! And I'm really glad you enjoyed the sofa in the kitchen - it was a guest's suggestion, for pulling up to be near the open fire. We love using it too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice W
Thaxted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful...”
Reviewed 3 April 2012 for a stay in September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in this fantastic newly renovated cottage at the end of summer 2011. Anyone looking for a romantic, relaxing getaway, this is the place to go. The cottage really is beautiful and equipped with everything required. Highly recommended!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The upstairs living area
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2012
Thanks for such wonderful feedback! Dunsley was designed to be a romantic bolthole and has proven so popular with wedding anniversaries, birthdays and honeymoons, as well as romantic short breaks. We haven't heard about anyone making a proposal yet, but you never know! Did you find the little aluminium heart, made by Duncan for our 20th wedding anniversary (!), as a tiny, functioning weathervane, above the fireplace?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

A beautiful cosy cottage located in a peaceful location within Staithes. Booking the cottage was seamless and owner (Judy) could not have been more helpful and gave us all the guest information we could have wished for at the point of booking. We parked in the free car park which is about a 5-10 minute walk away & had no problems whatsoever. Staithes itself is only a small place but the people there are so friendly. We went on several stunning clifftop walks and bigger places such as Whitby are only a short drive away. Would definatly stay in Dunsley again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt right at home the moment we stepped through the door. The cottage has such a warm homely feel to it.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2012
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dunsley! We use the free car park too, it saves £35 per week and is just as handy as the commercial options.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing