We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Fox Cottage from St Alkelda's Road. Like much of the Dales we are on a hill! The kitchen with breakfast bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The fabulous view from the conservatory
Fox Cottage from St Alkelda's Road. Like much of the Dales we are on a hill!
The kitchen with breakfast bar
From the kitchen to the sun lounge
View from the sun lounge at dusk.
The Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
The dining room which, like the sun lounge, leads out onto the balcony
View from the balcony between the dining room and sun lounge
Middleham, it's Castle and Wensleydale - no wonder Richard III loved it here!
Walking the dog by the River Ure 200m (downhill!) from Fox Cottage
From the drive to the front of the house in May
And for the dogs ...the side gate to the front garden.
...and the front garden.
The view from the bottom of the garden - the double bedroom is the bow window
A tour around the garden starting from the back door - this is enclosed.
The double bedroom with window onto back garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Middleham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
F1family
1 review
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just come back from Fox Cottage and had a great time. This was our first cottage rental and I would definately book this cottage again. It was just outside the village so we could walk to the pub within ten minutes. Lots of little villages were only about 20 minutes away and after a full day out and about it was lovely to come back to such a well equipped, cosy cottage. It had everything you could think of and our dog Rosie loved being able to come away with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLawFam...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Fox Cottage over Easter and had a really lovely time. The cottage is situated in a perfect place within easy walking distance to the village square but I would add that if you have trouble walking up hills this is not the place for you. The cottage is really well equipped it seems Alison has thought of everything you need. The absolute bonus is to stay at such a nice cottage that allows dogs, our dogs made themselves at home straight away and seemed to enjoy the weekend as much as us! We all loved the beautiful walks we went on and were very lucky with the weather. We would definitely recommend and will hopefully be booking up again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek63669...
1 review
“Great Cottage ”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a short break in Fox Cottage, it is clean & well equipped with everything you might need. It is well positioned to to explore the Dales & only a short walk into Middleham which has a shop & some nice pubs.
This is an excellent base & I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arco-oz
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in Yorkshire Dales”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fox Cottage is the ideal base for exploring the rugged and beautiful Yorkshire Dales, surely one of the most interesting areas in all of Britain. Middleham is close to all the local attractions and even has the remains of Richard III's childhood castle in the centre. There are four good pubs and a couple of restaurants and a small village shop. A good co-op supermarket is only a couple of miles away in Leyburn, along with even more pubs and restaurants.
Fox Cottage is comfortable, well-furnished and warm. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a washing machine. The shower may be a trifle cramped for larger visitors but this hulking ex-rugby player still managed to wash. Don't attempt to park in the driveway, just put your vehicle's wheels on the footpath and leave it on the street outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the central heating
Liked least: The shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milalsal
hull england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a few days to see the dales and walk.
Fox Cottage was a good size with a nice little garden for Alfie our daughters little Pug to sit out in. All rooms were a good size, nicely decorated and perfect for our needs.
I messaged Alison the owner several times prior to and during our visit, she was very welcoming of Alfie and she always answered promptly each time with great help.
Middleham is a great little village to stay in with fantastic castle ruins right in the village and also being the centre of the horse racing industry in the North you see all the beautiful racehorses going to the gallos each morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well laid out inc conservatory for Alfie
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing