We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lyme Cottage

The kitchen has been carefully designed to ensure everything you need is at your fingertips
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The kitchen has been carefully designed to ensure everything you need is at your fingertips
The open plan kitchen ensures that cooking a meal can be a social occasion for everyone The living room space ends in a bright conservatory and opens out onto the decking and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The kitchen has been carefully designed to ensure everything you need is at your fingertips
The open plan kitchen ensures that cooking a meal can be a social occasion for everyone
The living room space ends in a bright conservatory and opens out onto the decking and garden
The open plan living area gives a relaxed feeling of space
The bright double bedroom windows look out towards the sea and the Cobb
The custom built superking bed in the second bedroom can be unlocked/unzipped to form 2 single beds
The living room can be closed both ends when the sofabed is in use - making a gorgeous third bedroom
Downstairs bathroom with WC, shower and bath.
The upstairs bathroom with WC and shower.
The back stairs offer a second means of access to the house.
The garden path is made up of local 200 million year old blue lias stone.
The Lyme Cottage website shows the latest availability, pricing and booking form.
The patio in the rain.
The gorgeous inside-outside back patio is perfect for a quiet evening drink.
Big stripy beach towels provided!
Scottish Fine sea kelp hand soap and moisturiser.
Lyme Cottage is the perfect base for exploring the fantastic Jurassic coastline.
Whatever the season, Lyme Bay offers dramatic scenery.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

i was looking for a relaxing retreat and Lyme Cottage did not disappoint. The cottage had a home from home feel about it and had everything I needed as well as being located a stone's throw away from the Cobb and the beach.

The cottage has been modernised to a very high standard and is obviously well cared for by its owners. I would definately recommend a stay and am hoping that it will not be too long before I return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous location of cottage to the beach.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Really delighted that you had a good break, Lisa... thanks so much for such kind words and I hope we can welcome you back sometime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Lyme Cottage is really lovely and benefits from a good modern renovation. There's everything you need for a perfect stay.
Stayed during March, so weather not good enough to enjoy the garden, but sea view can still be seen from sun area of cottage.
Would definitely return.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, Sarah... I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite somewhat ferocious weather! With luck the cottage at least provided a cosy retreat during stormy days! I hope you'll be back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home from Home Comfort in Fabulous Location”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Cottage has been nicely renovated and was very well appointed. The kitchen was well equipped, and the owner had provided basic kitchen necessities (condiments, tea, coffee, sugar,paper towels dishwashing soap etc) the beds were very comfortable and all linens were of excellent quality (fluffy towels and soft sheets). The location couldn't be better, literally 2 minutes walk from the Cobb, the beach, restaurants, pubs and shops.
The cottage has 2 bathrooms however, the upstairs shower is really not usable in my opinion. The floor slopes and it is very difficult to turn the shower on, never mind take a shower without the risk of water going everywhere. For this reason we did not use this shower. It was not a problem for us as there was a bathroom downstairs. Sofa in the living room was not very comfortable and dining table was a little worn. None of these items would prevent us from staying there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, comfortable beds and linens
Liked least: Upstairs shower
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Thanks for your kind comments - I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I was sorry to hear about the shower problem... Somehow the upstairs shower door had been pushed inwards rather than opening outwards, meaning that there was no seal created at the bottom of the door... this was resolved by the housekeepers after they'd read the comments you left on departure.

Obviously also sorry to hear that you didn't find the sofa comfortable - we have gone to lengths to pick furniture that makes guests feel as comfortable as possible and we will keep this under review over the coming months.

The dining table is Georgian (pre-1820s) and probably for that reason it does show a little wear and tear... having said that, we do try to keep it well maintained by waxing it regularly.

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback - I'm pleased to read that the problems you experienced wouldn't put you off returning and hope we can welcome you back sometime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAnd...
Southsea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect cottage for the perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We are huge fans of the Jurassic coast in general - we visit every summer. So for us, planning our honeymoon in our favourite Dorset locations was the obvious choice. I found Lyme Cottage and was really impressed by what I could see on the cottage website, and the way that the passion and pride of its owner came through in the information available - which is usually a good indicator that the place is going to be something special. The location was perfect - just a hop, skip and a jump to the Cobb, and we found a car park at the top of the hill for £2 a day. On hills, a plea here to others who review this place. Lyme Regis IS basically a hill - it's the only way in and the only way out unless you sail there. So, if you have mobility issues, don't stay in Lyme! - find a flatter place! But please don't mark Lyme Cottage down on this basis - it is perfection.
We arrived on a beautiful sunny afternoon and opened the patio doors to bliss. It was immaculately clean, with the highest quality equipment, appliances, utensils, cutlery, crockery, glassware, linens, towels - every item looked brand new. Nothing - literally, NOTHING, has been overlooked and Sam has anticipated every guest's requirement in the way he has designed the cottage. It really bugs me when you go self-catering & all the pans are scuffed and the knives are blunt - not here! I was able to prepare our catch from our mackerel fishing trip in record time thanks to excellent knives; the night before, we'd picked up some freshly cooked crabs from the fish shop down the road and lo and behold, we found pickers and claw crackers in a drawer. Sam ensures that a good set of basic condiments are left in the kitchen for you - tea, coffee, sugar, herbs and spices, oils & vinegar, sauces, and even a whole tin of oxo cubes! This is enormously helpful - we'd planned to bring this sort of thing but left from the wedding in quite a rush so forgot. There's a really helpful instruction manual too, should you be left in any doubt about how to work anything, and also, full of useful information about how to look after the property while you're there. And look after it you should; such is the quality here that you automatically feel the need to look after it more than you would your own home, and we did.
We were blessed with the weather last week so were able to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner on the gorgeous sun deck, with the harbour and the vast stretch of ocean in full view - utter bliss. The neighbours to the left (owners, not tourists) were here for a few days and bought us a bouquet of flowers to congratulate us on our wedding - so kind.
We spent our days browsing the shops (attention ladies: excellent clothes shopping in Lyme, I came back with five new outfits!); lazing on the terrace or the beach; watching the world go by from the Cobb (we took a bottle of champagne down there every evening until the sun disappeared which was magical). On the first evening, we had the best wood fired pizza ever at Poco Pizza (www.pocopizza.co.uk - they do takeaway too) just in the alleyway/lane running behind the Cobb Arms. Freshly landed hand dived scallops with artichokes & Parma ham prepared in front of your eyes and cooked to crisp perfection to order? Come on guys, this place was truly special. The range and choice of places to eat is immense and these are no ordinary menus - yet the prices are superb. We wished we'd tried scallops or whitebait (yes, really!) and chips from Herbies - as a lot of people seemed to be - but didn't get the chance.
We had the most hilarious fishing trip with Harry on Marie.F - there are cards for Nick's in the cottage but he wasn't going out that day & recommended Harry. The whole group - all strangers - got on like a house on fire and we literally did not stop laughing from the moment we left til the moment we got off the boat, even though the heavens opened for the whole trip & we all got drenched! Harry is such a great guy, so much fun, and plenty of mackerel caught too, which of course he gives you
Our time here was bliss, but what elevated it to perfection was all that Sam has thought of and delivered at Lyme Cottage. There is a well worn saying about 'you get what you pay for' - and this is so true at either end of the scale. Invest in a stay at Lyme Cottage and you'll be so glad that you did. Thank you Sam - out of this world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Top quality of literally everything in the cottage, from the garden gate to the back door!
Liked least: If anyone faults this cottage, they're staying in the wrong place. No dislikes whatsoever - it would be impossible to justify the,.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
I really can't thank you enough for taking the time to write this absolutely amazing, thorough review! It was an honour that you chose Lyme Cottage for your honeymoon - and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found that you wanted for nothing... just as it should be!

Sorry that we didn't get to meet, but it was lovely to read that the neighbours congratulated you with flowers! I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaynorM17
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, great location”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I had a great week staying at Lyme Cottage at the beginning of June — in spite of very variable weather! The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard (internet TV, wi-fi, wide range of appliances, good quality toaster/kettle etc) while maintaining original features. Comfortable beds and great white bedding/towels. Very comfortable. Great location just up from the Cobb. Lovely garden (herbs very useful) with outdoor deck to enjoy the sun, and the view (partial of the sea but no problem with that), plus there's a nice small enclosed patio at the back which catches the evening sun — ideal for an aperitif. Two minutes from the Cobb and about 10 minutes along the sea front from the town. Worth paying the extra for reserved parking two minutes away. For eating we enjoyed The Harbour Inn (good fish, friendly service) and Tierra Kitchen (inspired vegetarian food). We'll be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing