We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brewery? What brewery?”
Review of Lyme Regis Brewery

Lyme Regis Brewery
Ranked #17 of 30 things to do in Lyme Regis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lyme Regis Brewery is a small brewery in the artisan centre of Lyme Regis. We changed our name in Spring 2015 from Town Mill Brewery. We make many different styles of English Real Ale. Brewing often takes place midweek and you can come in and watch the fun, smell the malt and hops and, of course, taste the beers. Sit with a pint of our beer in the Town Mill courtyard and drink in the atmosphere at this historic location. We look forward to seeing you.
Reviewed 22 June 2015

I travelled with a master brewer and I have worked in a brewery before. We could tell that the people behind the 'counter' weren't legit and it didn't even like they brewed a drop from there. They informed us that the mill doesn't provide them with malt and that the beer is brewed elsewhere, what is even the point in seeing a fake mash tun in a 4m x 4m room?

Thank 896camillag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMBrewery, Manager at Lyme Regis Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Thanks for your review, 896camillag, but we must admit we're a bit puzzled by it. Even with your brewery experience, you failed to notice 2 full fermenter vessels bubbling away. Had you visited the previous week, you'd have seen those 2 brews being brewed and could have talked to the brewers. Had you visited us later, you'd have seen the beer being transferred into cask.

Why would a mill provide anyone with malt? Mills grind grains to make flour, but malting barley is a specialized process and we buy ours from professional maltsters.

We do brew a proportion of our beers offsite a few miles away. As you noticed the brewery is tiny - just 4BBL (I'm sure you know what that means) and we're finding it difficult to keep up with demand.

We're not sure what you mean when you say "We could tell that the people behind the 'counter' weren't legit " The're genuine, real, alive and very hard-working shop staff - we promise you.

Judging by your other Lyme Regis reviews, you it seems you didn't like much about our lovely town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"take home"
in 7 reviews
"inside seating area"
in 2 reviews
"small courtyard"
in 2 reviews
"great beer"
in 4 reviews
"hidden away"
in 2 reviews
"different beers"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"sunny day"
in 2 reviews
"little gem"
in 2 reviews
"cider"
in 11 reviews
"ales"
in 8 reviews
"brewed"
in 4 reviews
"town"
in 9 reviews
"rhubarb"
in 2 reviews
"lyme"
in 8 reviews
"dorset"
in 4 reviews
"cheese"
in 4 reviews
Filter

48 - 52 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Spent a lovely hour people watching and enjoying a 'Revenge' IPA and a Raspberry Cider with the
Mrs. Superb micro brewery with a friendly 'barmaid'
Lovely local beer that I'll be back for to try some more!

3  Thank Anglepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMBrewery, Manager at Lyme Regis Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Thanks for your kind review about us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

we stopped here and sampled their brew. Really good cider and beer, my husband and sons would have stayed longer had it not been closing. Please if you have a chance to go, do so, well worth it

Thank RheezyRhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMBrewery, Manager at Lyme Regis Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015

What a super way to kill 2 hours in Lyme Regis. A great little brewey with some outside seating. My only concern is that we would not have imbibed 9 pints of their finest (between 3 of us) if it had been raining. So opportunity lies to create some indoor seating for us real ale affectionados

1  Thank WensleydaleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMBrewery, Manager at Lyme Regis Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Thanks for your kind review about us and our beers. We used to have a bench inside, but it wasn't used too much, so it went for shelving. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

This is what I call a treat.
After a day spent on the beach looking for fossils we have decided to go for a meal in town. Whilst walking round the town looking for a restaurant we came across this place. Such a lovely discovery. Local brewery, cake shop and pottery workshop. I must say we fell in love with this place. Please do visit this place when in dorset.

1  Thank SidDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMBrewery, Manager at Lyme Regis Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Thanks for your review and pleased you had a good stay. Hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyme Regis Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lyme Regis Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing