We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and friendly staff”

The Millside Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 85 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Our party of 5 spent a very pleasant lunch, dining alfresco, at this establishment. The menu was interesting and varied with a decent selection to suit meat eaters and vegetarians alike. We all had different starters which were delicious I particularly enjoyed the heritage tomatoes with the creamiest mozzarella I have ever tasted. Then we all opted for the catch of the day, hake. This was beautifully cooked (without batter) and came with some deliciously crunchy chips and very nice mushy peas. The staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive which made it a very enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2018

Booked a table for family here in this little gem of a restaurant hidden down in the Artisan square which is a lovely area with many interesting units, the mill to see in operation, millers, crafts and lovely places to eat. Dinner was sublime in its friendly atmosphere run by a local young couple who are amazing. The ambience is calm and light and airy, the tables prettily laid with fresh flowers and crisp white cloths. The menu is ever changing and is beautifully presented along with extra specials of the day. The fish and scallops are as fresh as a daisy, and the smoked duck divine. We all had starts, all beautifully artistically presented and all so delicious followed by yummy mains of chicken in a creamy sauce, crispy pork crackle and pork belly so soft and yielding, flaky soft bream and hake , deserts had to be indulged in and here we all chose different sorbets and ices, delicious. Washed down with a light fizz and ciders and beers. beautiful. laid back dining to chat and laugh in a fab location with wonderful food. thank you Thoroughly recommend xxxx,

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sall-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This was a chance finding and how pleased were we to have stumbled upon it? Having parked at the top of town and walked in we passed signs for the Town Mill - this was new since our last visit so we made a note to return on our way back from the beach, ice cream and general shopping.

The renovated area of the Town Mill is part of a riverside walk and features a small gallery, a few artists workshops (jewellery and pottery) and the restaurant - all set beside a river. In the middle of Lyme its a lovely oasis of calm and on this sunny autumn day, a real sun trap. We weren't planning on lunch but the Millside Restuarant just drew us in - we couldn't resist the dog friendly seats in the sun and the fresh local menu.

Service was friendly and prompt. A latte and a flat white came quickly and we chose Brie and bacon baguettes plus a side order of triple cooked chips. It all arrived soon after and it was fab - fresh bread, a good filling (no skimping on the bacon!) and a small freshly dressed salad. The triple cooked chips got a special mention.

Good food, well executed and served with a smile. A nice pitstop away from the throng - highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CheltenhamJellybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely birthday meal here in Sept 2018. Highly recommend if your in Lyme Regis and want something a little more special. Great seasonal menus with a fine selection of wines for all occasions.
A little hidden gem in fantastic surroundings in one of the best little towns in England.
Staff were great with warm friendly atmosphere.
Recommend booking in advance to save disappointment. The establishment is quite small.
Only slight negative comment is the food took a little while to arrive but suited me perfectly for the evening. ( I wasn’t in a rush and had wine to drink ) The food was fresh and cooked to perfection.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank F5678EAjamesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely evening last weekend at the Millside. Food was amazing, everything was freshly cooked and treated great. Lovely location, friendly staff, nice relaxed atmosphere, what more could you want. Will be back soon. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank leee843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Millside Restaurant also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Millside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing