We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Moor please!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Sunny  patio Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
The Lodge
Sunny  patio
Living room
Two 3-foot zip and link beds to create a large double, or two separate single beds
Large walk-in shower
Owners'  cottage on left. The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk onto the Moor from the Lodge
Miles of moorland to explore
Uninterrupted moorland
Take a break to soak up the scenery
Visit the ancient clapper bridge at Postbridge
Enjoy a local cream tea
Loads of footpaths to explore
And riverside walks
Or walk around Burrator Reservoir
Admire the moorland ponies
Parking in front of The Lodge is on reinforced grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
innocents...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moor please!”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just back from a five day stay at The Lodge. It is a perfect cottage for a couple and all parts are immaculate. Quito the dog welcomes you back from your day trips on the moor. Bathroom, bedroom and Lounge/Kitchen are all warm and comfortable and if you get some nice weather (!) there is a table outside to sit on and enjoy the garden.

The owners are friendly and helpful and are keen to ensure you have a nice stay (they lent us a few OS maps which came in helpful when we got lost on the moor!). The pub is a 30 second walk and thoroughly recommended. We ate and drank there a few times during our stay and recommend the food and the local beer.

You can walk from the cottage to the surrounding countryside and there are great routes in most directions.

Would recommend and will hope to visit again.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDClogs
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Dartmoor getaway”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just returned for spending a week at the Lodge and can't wait to go back. The cottage has been finished to a high specification and provided with many little touches not found elsewhere. The kitchen is particularly well-equipped. In a peaceful location, we found the Lodge warm and comfortable. A table and chairs are provided for sitting out and, though it was March, we enjoyed sitting outside and watching the sun go down one evening.

We received a warm welcome from our hosts, Carol and Andrew, who were friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. They suggested a local walk to us which was absolutely delightful. (Thanks for the loan of the parish map!) their labrador, Quito, also became a pal.

We used the Lodge as a base for a walking holiday. There are lots of walks which can be started directly from the Lodge, but the whole of Dartmoor is within an hour's drive. We were blessed with exceptionally good weather and were able to explore lots of the wilder areas of the moor.

For eating out, we can recommend the Drake Manor, which is just a few paces down the road from the Lodge. It is a cosy, old-fashioned inn serving good food and local ales and ciders. We also enjoyed some pasties from the Game Larder down in Yelverton.

We didn't manage to squeeze in a visit to Buckland Abbey, historic Tavistock, Lydford, Oakhampton or Plymouth, or have a Devon cream tea, so it looks like a repeat visit is on the cards to this little home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“super place to stay and lovely owners”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

the property was spacious and in a quiet little village . post office and homemade cakes etc 5 mins drive up road. local pub in village. there was nothing i liked least,just that i was a bit poorly during my stay. so perfect to just chill out relax and get better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Recommended and dog-friendly.”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I needed somewhere dog-friendly and close to Tavistock for a family visit and I cannot recommend this place enough. For the two of us and a small spaniel it was just the right size with all mod-cons. During a cold and rainy February it was extremely comfortable and with the heating available was never cold.
The area is surrounded by nice walking opportunities and access to the moor itself is only through a few fields. The local village has no amenities other than a dog-friendly pub but with Tavistock and Yelverton so close nothing more is needed. The owners couldnt be more friendly and I have no hesitation in recommending this property. For future family visits to the area I will be looking at returning.
The only issues were no mobile signal (not surprising with the area) and a patchy wifi. Being familiar to the area neither of these were a big surprise but a stronger wifi was found at the local pub if required. When no phone signal is available wifi based message services are important to co-ordinate family and friends arrangements.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Poor wifi.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Third visit and still rated 5 stars”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is our third visit and we are booked in again for Spring 2016. Excellent cottage in a quiet village. Need I say more?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$88
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing