We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Sunny  patio Comfortable and light sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
The Lodge
Sunny  patio
Comfortable and light sitting room
Matching sofas
Log effect stove
Fully fitted kitchen
Internal view to bedroom
Two 3-foot zip and link beds to create a large double, or two separate single beds
Internal view from bedroom
Large walk-in shower
Owners'  cottage on left. The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk onto the Moor from the Lodge
Miles of moorland to explore
Uninterrupted moorland
Take a break to soak up the scenery
Visit the ancient clapper bridge at Postbridge
Enjoy a local cream tea
Loads of footpaths to explore
And riverside walks
Or walk around Burrator Reservoir
Admire the moorland ponies
Parking in front of The Lodge is on reinforced grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillyflow...
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place. Lovely village. Well placed for exploring the area. Pub almost crawling distance! Stunning walks all round. Welcoming and friendly host. Well appointed and very pretty cottage. Easy access for less mobile. Couldn't ask for more for our short break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAdmira...
London
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“.....and Flosi came too!”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and myself spent a few days at the lodge in mid April and Flosi our dog was a welcome visitor too!

We had a really good time in this well appointed property, nicely decorated and superbly located. We have been visiting Dartmoor almost every year for the last 26 years and have stayed in a number of location and used various accommodation and I think I can fairly say this has been the nicest both from the quality of the accommodation and the location. It's in the heart of the village of Buckland Monachorum, and to make things even better the weather was lovely.

The property has great facilities including wifi and a cafetière (most essential) , very comfortable bed, well appointed bathroom with a nice shower. It was also good that items like salt and pepper and washing up liquid were provided.

Andrew and Carol were very friendly and of course so was their dog.

The local pub The Drake Manor Inn was just across the road which always seemed to be busy and provided us with a meal one evening.

I would really recommend this accommodation its on the edge of the moor, close to Plymouth and the coast, and in a very nice part of Devon.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: It was very hot for the days we stayed and as the lodge had night storage heaters there was a delay in being able to turn down the heat, however, this could be because I'm not used to night storage heaters
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelaghB5...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in lovely village”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very welcoming hosts. Lovely spacious, modern, comfortable cottage with a very good pub opposite. Buckland Monochorum is a pretty little village in a picturesque area with lots of walks, ideal for the dog. There appears to be a regular bus service which connects to Yelverton from where you can travel to Tavistock or Plymouth. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and hope to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homeliness of cottage
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
euroteds
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a lovely undiscovered village”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

we stayed here for 10 days before leaving to work in france.
everything was just perfect. the lodge is very modern and spacious, in a great position with lots of sun all day. we were even able to sit out!
the cottage was lovely and clean and well equipped.
we loved the local walks from the cottage, and the the village was very nice.
andrew and carol are lovely people who cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable, and we loved Quito!!
we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the position and the lovely light in the property.
Liked least: nothing at all to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A welcoming, warm and cosy home from home”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Lodge is a very comfortable and convenient place to stay, and the owners Andrew and Caroline are extremely welcoming and full of useful tips and advice to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We enjoyed discovering the western side of Dartmoor (being more familiar with the eastern side), and found it well worth exploring from this comfortable base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home away from home atmosphere and the pretty village.
Liked least: Can't think of anything we disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing