We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
348
202
102
44
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
202
102
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wildflower restaurant balcony room dartmoor ponies afternoon tea lovely hotel cream tea beautiful setting wedding reception main course valley suite buffet style wedding venue dog friendly hotel an overnight stay waiting staff both nights bar area
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016

I booked a SUPERIOR Double Room ( The best and the most expensive they had on offer but I was given a so called premier Double room Which was a standard room with a very dirty furniture, chairs, Fan, hair dryer and an awfully dirty bath,
upon complaining about the room and presenting them with a print out of the booking with photograph of the room I had booked and they recognized it as Garden room with balcony , I was offered no other alternative even though the Hotel was almost empty and to make matters worse they directed the blame on Booking.com for the mistake and asking me as a customer to contact booking.com to rectify the problem.
Their duty manager did not even have a decency to come and face me direct and explain and sent the message via receptionist .
I was very disappointed and advise every one to stay away from this Hotel.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry there were errors made with your booking through booking.com, but these have now been addressed. I am sorry that this was not explained to you directly by the Manager on duty. I have investigated and addressed the issues that you raised. Please contact me directly at gm@moorlandgardenhotel.co.uk if you wish to make a return visit, as I would like to personally manage your reservation. Kind regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Beautiful property in a stunning location. We only stayed one night and wish we had stayed longer, the service was uniformly excellent, the room very well equipped and spotless, most comfortable. Dinner was really good, delicious and so well presented. The only downside of our stay was breakfast which was pretty ordinary in lay out, presentation and offerings in very big contrast to everything else.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DAVID V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your comments. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Moorland Garden hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This hotel was sold as a luxury stay but was not to the standard sold, fortunately the staff were fantastic and resolved all issues quickly and efficiently. A potentially disappointing stay avoided by great diligence. Would stay again on a different package.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank EmilyFlemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that you did not find the hotel to a standard of luxury that you were expecting. Thank you so much for your comments in relation to the staff at the hotel, which I have enjoyed sharing with them. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Stayed for three nights 4-7 Aug in a twin room. The hotel room was very clean and nicely decorated but the hotel generally lacked any atmosphere. All the staff were very young and inexperienced.
Breakfast was a disappointment, cold plates for the hot buffet, tea was very cold and had to keep asking for hot tea. Selection of anaemic looking croissants that were dry, no fresh fruit other than a fruit salad. It looked very amateurish!

Garden kept nice but very ecclectic display of statues with a large spider and web! Really.
Bed was clean but a very soft mattress with a quilt, usually would expect a sheet.
Loved the sheep and ponies - but do think this hotel is over priced.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thank you for your recent review. I was very sorry to read of your disappointment with breakfast, and I will be putting measures in place to ensure that these standards are improved. Thank you for commenting about the sculptures in the garden. They all come from local artists and they are indeed eclectic. I am pleased that you found the room to be clean and nicely decorated. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

This is a lovely hotel set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by moorland of Dartmoor.
I only stayed one night, I needed to be near Tavistock and this was a very good choice, being within easy reach of Tavistock and Plymouth, not to mention Dartmoor itself.
My room was well appointed, clean and comfortable, perfectly quiet and very dark which aided a very good nights sleep.
I took breakfast in my room so can't comment on restaurant service, but what I was served was a very good continental style brekkie.
Check-in and out was quick and effortless. A special mention to Grace who put me at ease as she knew I was staying on my own. Thank you.
Overall, I would recommend and would stay again should the need arise.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adminsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your comments. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Moorland Garden hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews