We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New Year at Higher Westcott Farmhouse”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jane-Thur...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Year at Higher Westcott Farmhouse ”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our New Year holiday at Higher Westcott Farmhouse- our 26 new year away with the same core group of friends we found the Farmhouse really comfortable for our week away- highlight of the Farmhouse were the bar and the light sunny rooms. Great dog walks straight from the front door. Tesco delivers to the farmhouse - ideal for a large group. Superb venue for a large group. Sussed out leaving one car at steps bridge as only parking for four cars. We will be back sometime soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thanks Jane, so glad you had a fab time. Happy new year
Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aysh12345
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Amazing place, had such a great weekend with my friends . The house is very comfortable with beautiful views.. Central to great walks and cozy pubs . Would love to visit again . Thank you for such a great break !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house in a wonderful spot”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I enjoyed a really relaxing weekend with friends in this wonderful house. Amazing walks and pubs near by as well as everything you need in the house to enjoy some cosy down time, the beds are wonderful! Can't wait to go back - thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Thanks Bev, was lovely to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G4Men
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely rural and rustic”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

we stayed with extended family and were a large group. The house comfortably accommodated all of us. It has beautiful views and has a cosy feel to it. We enjoyed visits to the beaches, Moors, great pub in Moretenhampstead and Exeter. Most places were accessible within an hours drive or less.
The children enjoyed the outdoors. overall a very enjoyable stay and experience.
Parking however is limited to about 4 cars and mobile signal is very weak.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: rural location and views
Liked least: lack of mobile signal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterkeyn...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bucolic bliss”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at HIgher Westcott was perfect. Our son was getting married in the nearby village of Bridford and we wanted a base for the extended family and your 6 bedroomed house was really ideal - full of charm, a genuine farmhouse complete with massive stone walls and fireplace and ancient thatch, It was incredibly orderly inside and lacking in any of the rustic dust one would expect in an old farmhouse. Clean carpets throughout, wonderful fresh white linen and squashy beds, and bathrooms in every corner finished to a very high modern standard. The kitchen was generously equipped with all mod cons and we were totally impressed. A bonus was the playroom with lots of beautifully arranged toys and books which kept the younger ones happy for hours.The memory of views from the bed, of cows munching on the hill across the valley and seeing a deer scamper over the field, bluebells and total bucolic peace will draw us back again. Only connectivity was a challenge as we couldn't keep in touch with the wedding guests as there was little or no cell network, and internet was weak or off - but that did enable us to get away from dreaded emails so it was actually a blessing in disguise! So thank you both - it was a shame we didn't meet you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views from the bedrooms
Liked least: big black leather sofas - not really a problem!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing