We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bucolic bliss”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Waterkeyn...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bucolic bliss”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at HIgher Westcott was perfect. Our son was getting married in the nearby village of Bridford and we wanted a base for the extended family and your 6 bedroomed house was really ideal - full of charm, a genuine farmhouse complete with massive stone walls and fireplace and ancient thatch, It was incredibly orderly inside and lacking in any of the rustic dust one would expect in an old farmhouse. Clean carpets throughout, wonderful fresh white linen and squashy beds, and bathrooms in every corner finished to a very high modern standard. The kitchen was generously equipped with all mod cons and we were totally impressed. A bonus was the playroom with lots of beautifully arranged toys and books which kept the younger ones happy for hours.The memory of views from the bed, of cows munching on the hill across the valley and seeing a deer scamper over the field, bluebells and total bucolic peace will draw us back again. Only connectivity was a challenge as we couldn't keep in touch with the wedding guests as there was little or no cell network, and internet was weak or off - but that did enable us to get away from dreaded emails so it was actually a blessing in disguise! So thank you both - it was a shame we didn't meet you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views from the bedrooms
Liked least: big black leather sofas - not really a problem!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trystan C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning house in a beautiful location. Simply perfect”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at Higher Westcott Farm with our three kids and some friends and their children. We all had the most amazing time. The kids couldn't have been happier. The house is huge and absolutely gorgeous and is exactly as described. We couldn't fault it if we tried - not that we would want to. The hosts Sam and Jo were great and we really enjoyed our welcome treats. Thanks for a fabulous long weekend. I'm sure we will be seeing you again very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thanks so much for the comments. Glad you all enjoyed. Look forward to hosting you all again. Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
843PaulJ...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal for a family get together”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The house looks great and it didn’t disappoint: we found it well equipped and well-presented, Jo and Sam were helpful, the welcome pack was very welcome and the facilities were high quality. The wi-fi is decent and made up for the lack of phone reception (which we were expecting anyway). The rooms are full of character and the layout worked really well for our family of three generations. We loved the walled garden, a suntrap even in March, and the permeability of the house for moving around while retaining quiet corners.

The location is great and it worked perfectly for us: quiet but not remote with clear skies and very central to all our favourite places to visit around Dartmoor. It was great to have options for hilly walks direct from the front door, with the Bridford Inn within reasonable range and even a local tor to climb. Also, the phone reception from on top of the tor is excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thanks Paul. Really pleased you all enjoyed your time on Dartmoor and Higher Westcott farm. All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W
Truro, Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Higher Westcott is a lovely place to stay with a group of friends. There were five couples in our group and we visited for 5 days.
Things to consider: The kitchen is very basic with minimal cutlery and crockery for a large group. We had to keep washing up in order to have enough for a 3 course meal. Take everything with you as there is nothing but salt and pepper. So that means cleaning things, foil, film, kitchen roll, loo roll etc. There were no cleaning supplies to clean the bathrooms either.
There was no can opener or scissors in the kitchen.
Take hair dryers.
Phone signal almost zilch. Wifi fine.
Garden was great for the 2 dogs and we stored our bikes in the playroom.
The mattresses are terrible. The attic room's is broken on one side and really needs throwing out. I have a fabulous bed at home and this was simply unacceptable. I took my own pillow thank god!
Limited hanging and storage room in the end double bedroom.
Take slippers or house shoes as the stone floors can be cold.
The water supply is pumped up by electrical pump and is noisy at night, the hot water can trip out too and needs to be reset but this is an isolated Devon Longhouse so needs to be treated with care.
Great space but only for 10 people. Don't make the mistake of booking 6 couples in. Dining table only seats 10 and is too high for the chairs, so we all felt like toddlers at the very high table!
We go back, armed with better supplies and when the mattresses are renewed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attic bathroom and sense of space
Liked least: Mattresses!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Hello, firstly i responded to this the day it came through but it hasn't been posted. I am not sure why and am sorry for what seems like a delay in responding.
I am glad you enjoyed your time at the house and the area and just wanted to answer a few of the concerns you mentioned. I am sorry you didn't locate a lot of the items that you mention not being available as when we checked the house they were mostly present. We will re write the welcome book to highlight the location of these items. It does state how close we live to the house and our contact details too so had we heard your concerns we could've been there immediately to correct them.
In the kitchen there is a cleaning bucket with wash up liquid, dish tabs, toilet cleaner and surface cleaner. Toilet rolls are supplied in each bathroom on arrival, along with a hamper of fresh local eggs, apple juice, milk, local cider. There is tea, coffee, sugar, salt and pepper too. There is a can opener in the draw and we have added kitchen scissors. We do not supply foil or clingfilm but will consider this for the future. The china has a stock of 12 starter plates, 12 main course and 12 dessert bowls - we have now increased that to 20 of each plus and an additional side plate. In the cupboard by the dining room there are 2 hair dryers.
We are reviewing the mattresses and collecting further feedback. In the meantime the attic has been replaced.
The house is over 500 years old and has its own private spring in an adjoining field. It is pumped up to the house and then through the system. The pump is only activated when the taps are turned on.
The house is advertised for 10 adults as it has 5 double bedrooms. In addition there is a childs room with a small double bed. We do not list our house for 12 adults even though we feel there plenty of room for a group of that size. It is perfect for 10 adults plus children. If the group exceeds 10 - further chairs are provided.
We really welcome your comments and it has highlighted our need to make the "house need to knows" more clearer so that you know what to expect at the house on arrival and where to find everything. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you and your friends in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky M
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous house, beautiful”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A group of 11 of us stayed here for a long weekend and had an amazing time. The surrounding area is gorgeous and the farmhouse was perfect. Jo and Sam were incredibly helpful and even left eggs, milk, apple juice, cider and homemade granola which was a lovely touch. The farmhouse couldn't have been better - would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
Thanks Becky. Really pleased you all enjoyed
Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing