We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charm and comfort”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room and Fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room and Fire
Seating Area King Size Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Sitting Room and Fire
Seating Area
King Size Bedroom
Bathroom
Twin Bedded Bedroom
Top Floor Bedroom
Kitchen
Cream Tea!
Summer on Dartmoor
Front of Cottage
House Name
Great local food on the door step
Wonderful tea room
Dartmoor Ponies
Historic town center
Moretons oldest properties
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CaroE3049
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charm and comfort”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We loved Tilley's Cottage. There was everything we needed for our short stay. The bedrooms were roomy, the beds were comfortable and the living space enabled the 5 of us to co-habit without feeling cramped. Certainly worth a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The olde cottage feel.
Liked least: The liner-less food bin!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Caro
Thank you so much for the card and leaving the cottage so beautifully organised, unlike my muddled access details (problem now recified!) I do hope you can return one day.
Best wishes
Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1959mgaEn...
encinitas ca
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“charming house, great location and attentive owner”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we rented Tilley's cottage for a week and found everything delightful. Nicely appointed with rich upholstered pieces and fine linens. Outstanding bathrooms with excellent water pressure and a grand location in the center of the village. The owner was prompt to address the small problem with the boiler pressure and we were completely satisfied with our stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_a...
Blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect location and beautifully thought out”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great cottage...the furnishings and décor were of great quality and there were a lot of little touches that personalised this as a home - such as map and the ornaments and the cream tea on arrival.
The rooms were spacious and we had everything we needed. Comfy beds.
We really enjoyed the stay and look forward to booking again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedrooms
Liked least: Kitchen workptop space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sl0w2ange...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well appointed cottage”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This cottage has everything you could need for a holiday stay. Well decorated with enough space for 6 people and would be great in winter with enough central heating and a wood burner to boot. No garden which could be an issue if you have children but a bench to sit outside the back door. Would certainly book again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweetasca...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing suprisingly affordable place to stay!!”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I have just got back from this cottage on Monday.I went for a 3 night break to Devon with 4 friends. We all really enjoyed staying in this beautiful home.The rooms are immaculate and all well funished.Once we got the fire going we had a lovely time enjoying our homemade scones and cream.The other cupboard essentials were a great find too.The beds were comfortable and the house was snug as a bug.The local people in the village and surrounding area are all so lovely and friendly. I certainly found it difficult to pack and leave! We spent one day on a lovely walk though we didn't end up seeing Drogo Castle. And another day was spent paintballing.We really enjoyed our evenings in playing board games ( thanks Nikki) and just watching TV. We had everything we needed to make meals and delicious brunches, with all the right kitchenware indoors and Co-op outside.Thanks a lot Nikki for being so helpful throughout the booking process and even after.

The only downside was running out of loo roll (easily resolved) and the main bathroom loo needed a bit more of a clean to be really spotless.other then that I couldn't fault it and we would all happily stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing