We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully spacious & peaceful converted barn”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Manaton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy B
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully spacious & peaceful converted barn”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Family of 4 (2 boys 13 & 15).

We arrived to a warm & friendly welcome from Astrid who introduced us to our accommodation and was only too happy to explain everything in detail. Fresh eggs from the resident chickens and freshly cut daffodils were a nice little extra.

An extremely spacious open plan living area that suited us perfectly which made for a relaxing living space. Having an en-suite to all bedrooms was a great boon, especially with 2 teenagers. For those of you who like a real fire the wood burner is just the ticket to get the room nice and cosy.

My youngest particularly enjoyed feeding the horses in the adjacent field the odd carrot & apple and making acquaintance with the sheep.

This really is a peaceful location which is great for anyone wanting to get away from it all. For those wanting to explore there are plenty a walks to go on. Our boys particularly enjoyed a soggy walk to Becky Falls through the woods, making our way from the bottom up to the Cafe for a well-earned piece of cake & coffee.

Following Astrid's recommendation we drove out to Grimspound and walked back to the Hayloft taking in some beautiful views of Dartmoor (very kindly driving me back to pick up the car afterwards).

Although on the edge of Dartmoor, Newton Abbot is only 20-25 mins or so away and most other urban areas are easily accessed.

All in all this was a fabulous relaxing week and Astrid makes a wonderful host; the boy's definitely want to come back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Find.”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our second visit to The Hayloft in 2 years.
The accommodation is spectacular. High quality throughout with ample space and equipment for six adults. Each bedroom with an en suite is a real bonus.
The situation is perfect for walking, cycling, sightseeing throughout Dartmoor.
The owners are delightful and make you so welcome. They do all they can to make your stay relaxing and carefree.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you very much and welcome back, we are glad to hear that your second visit to The Hayloft was an enjoyable one. It sounds like you were very well looked after and that you had the opportunity to make the best of beautiful Dartmoor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
1 review
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We recently stayed in The Lofthouse and were mesmerised by the property and surrounding countryside. We were lucky enough to see the small baby lambs. Fantastic walks and amazing pubs that serve up great food. We will be returning as we never had enough time to explore all of the surrounding area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Thank you very much. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Lofthouse and look forward to welcoming you back to continue exploring the area in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing