We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing festive stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Luggs Barn

This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
The vaulted, beamed living room: a stunning space in which to unwind Luggs Barn is tucked away down a private lane yet accessible for coastal and countryside days out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
The vaulted, beamed living room: a stunning space in which to unwind
Luggs Barn is tucked away down a private lane yet accessible for coastal and countryside days out
The balcony and garden furniture are perfectly placed to take in the wonderful views
Luggs Barn's well-equipped and stylish kitchen/dining room is perfect for leisurely meals
The spacious ground floor master suite features French windows opening onto the cobbled courtyard
This bedroom features an en suite shower room, window seat and exposed stone walls.
View from farmhouse across the cobbled yard to the hills beyond
The spacious family bathroom (shower over bath). There's also a downstairs WC plus two en suite
Rear of the property showing part of the huge garden and the gravelled parking area
The orchard is a mass of primroses and blossom in the Spring
Luggs Barn enjoys a huge private garden - perfect for families, pet owners or anyone seeking peace
The perfect, atmospheric location for a party or wedding reception (bring own marquee etc)
Soak up these glorious views from the balcony or garden - the perfect chance to unwind
Guests can explore our 5 acres of land, inc this woodland which is carpeted with bluebells in Spring
The owners' picturesque 15thC farmhouse is Luggs Barn's only neighbour
Monty and Ted are hugely popular with guests!
If you'd like to wake up to this view, call us now for late availability offers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alice D
1 review
“Amazing festive stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We booked the cottage for two nights between Christmas and New Year and it really made our Christmas! The cottage is beautiful and the photos can't do it enough justice. Jenny & Chris were really helpful throughout and left us a hamper + the tree & fairy lights up which made it magical. We'll definitely be back! P.S Monty the neighbour's dog is a dream

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Christmas Retreat”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have returned from the most wonderful Christmas break. We were a party of 8. 2 couples with 2 x 16 year olds, 11 and 7 year old. This was a first for both families being away from home for Christmas. We had the most wonderful time. From the minute we arrived we were greeted with a beautiful hamper. The Barn is even more stunning than the photos do it justice. Jenny and Chris provided us with a decorated Christmas tree and twinkling Christmas lights on the beams. The views are absolutely breathtaking. We had everything we could possibly need to cook our Xmas dinner. Lovely walk Boxing Day and a few drinks in The Catherine Wheel. We did not want to leave this wonderful retreat. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy C
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We hired Luggs Barn for my Mum's 70th Birthday celebrations with 4 generations of family. Everyone loved it from my 70 year old mum to her 5 year old great granddaughter. Highly recommended. (point from my teenage nephew, could do with a pizza cutter ;)) Took us a while to find despite the clear instructions, but think that was more us not following them properly than anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_Debz
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stunning Remote Cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Luggs Barn is truly amazing both in location and the house itself, we didn’t want to leave.
I will start with the positives.
Most things are catered for. We cook our meals every day and there really wasn’t anything missing to enable us to do this. There was 9 in our party 8 adults 1 baby, perfect in every way. All bedrooms are a great size, the house is truly stunning. When we say we didn’t want to leave we really didn’t we’d buy this house if I came on the market. They have decorated it so very well. Location is out of this world if you like being remote – we do.
Beds amazing such a great nights sleep each and every night of our stay, all guests agreed.
I’m going to say there’s a few negatives but I am being really picky it’s more things to be aware of.
Location – really hard to find. To be fair the owners do tell you this and say sat nav might not work. If using sat nav it takes you to a farm about 500yds from Luggs barn. This farm will be on your left. If you carry on down the lane (very very narrow) drive slowly you will see a cattle grip and a hidden sign turn right this is lugs barn.
If you are going in winter as we did there isn’t anywhere near enough fire wood or anything to light a fire with.
There wasn’t a dish cloth
Seating in the lounge area. 2 x2 seater sofas with a couple of hard chairs, really do need more comfortable seating we ended up sitting on the floor. It is a cottage that sleeps 8!
Don’t use Salisbury's home delivery for your food. We booked ours and they said they couldn’t find it so didn’t deliver you can imagine how cross I was with a family of 8 arriving for the weekend, however there is an Asda about 3 miles away.
Check out is slightly early we feel. 10am. Lunchtime would be much better
As I’ve said I am being picky here and we would go back in a heartbeat, just some things to be aware of.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself we would buy if up for sale
Liked least: Finding it
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St1981ldn
2 reviews
“Wow! Perfect country retreat with the family.”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My family and I have just returned from a 5 day stay at Luggs and we were simply blown away. We were celebrating my parents wedding anniversary and wanted somewhere special. I knew it had good reviews but it simply exceeded all expectations and did not dissapoint. I dont normally write reviews but we left with great memories and it simply deserved recognition.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with fantastic views. The barn is set down a long private drive away from the road so the kids and dogs could run free and be safe. The garden was huge and fenced off to keep the dogs in. We loved dinner in the garden and a great place for a BBQ with friends although we didn't have time for that...maybe next year?

Inside the barn was clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. My wife loved the kitchen and we were supprised by the extensive kitchenware. All good quality too!

The beds were so comfy and the sheets were so crisp! Just like a 5* hotel. 3 bathrooms with power showers and loads of hot water.

It was such a lovely place to return to after exploring the area for he day. We felt so at home and the kids loved playing in the woods.

I'd reccomend walking to the beacon if you get good weather too. Ideal for walkers or just a nice country retreat.

Although we didn't meet the owners we received plenty of good communication prior to arrival and the directions were spot on!

Simply perfect! Well see you next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$236
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing