We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Barn Break in an idilic setting!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Luggs Barn

This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
The vaulted, beamed living room: a stunning space in which to unwind Luggs Barn is tucked away down a private lane yet accessible for coastal and countryside days out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
The vaulted, beamed living room: a stunning space in which to unwind
Luggs Barn is tucked away down a private lane yet accessible for coastal and countryside days out
The balcony and garden furniture are perfectly placed to take in the wonderful views
Luggs Barn's well-equipped and stylish kitchen/dining room is perfect for leisurely meals
The spacious ground floor master suite features French windows opening onto the cobbled courtyard
This bedroom features an en suite shower room, window seat and exposed stone walls.
View from farmhouse across the cobbled yard to the hills beyond
The spacious family bathroom (shower over bath). There's also a downstairs WC plus two en suite
Rear of the property showing part of the huge garden and the gravelled parking area
The orchard is a mass of primroses and blossom in the Spring
Luggs Barn enjoys a huge private garden - perfect for families, pet owners or anyone seeking peace
The perfect, atmospheric location for a party or wedding reception (bring own marquee etc)
Soak up these glorious views from the balcony or garden - the perfect chance to unwind
Guests can explore our 5 acres of land, inc this woodland which is carpeted with bluebells in Spring
The owners' picturesque 15thC farmhouse is Luggs Barn's only neighbour
Monty and Ted are hugely popular with guests!
If you'd like to wake up to this view, call us now for late availability offers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wild M
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three star accommodation at Luggs Barn.”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

There are positive and negative points. We will let the reader decide what is important to them.
Positive:
Nice area. Nice renovation of barn. Well equipped kitchen. Comfy beds. Clean linen. Plenty of hot water. Central heating. Great place for dog owners. Lots to do in the area. Lovely garden. Beautiful view. The sky on a clear night is awesome.
Negative :
The 5 star reviews are dated and unrealistic for 2016. We noted that June and July 2015 guest book reviews had been torn out as well as some pages from the previous year. There may be a good reason for that but to NOT find at least one average review is unusual. The owners must let people decide for themselves what is important. What we care about may not be an issue for someone else. So our observations:
Let us start with the tub of breadcrumbs which expired in March 2014.
The large downstairs bedroom smells heavily of mold, which has grown on the wall and has not been treated as yet this year. No windows in this room either. The carpet was heavily stained and needs a good steam clean.
The soap pump dispensers were thick with brown slime from months of accumulated old
soap. Really disgusting.
The kitchen table leg is dangerously loose.
A drinking glass in the downstairs bathroom had not been washed for some time and had toothpaste and stains on it.
The lounge sofas needed a good steam clean and the tatty cushion covers replacing.
A pillow fell on the floor and when it was picked up it was covered in dust and cobwebs.
A dirty tissue from the previous occupants was wedged between the headboard and the wall.
One sponge in the kitchen only with no kitchen roll or cloths to wipe down the surfaces.
There was absolutely no welcome waiting refreshements for us as stated on the website. Just leftovers from the previous occupants.
This is an off road area which is good for doggy owners but do not expect tranquility. In seven days we had vans and workmen (not farm workers) zooming in and out for five of those days.
The neighbours dogs are very sweet and friendly. So friendly that they will come in and make themselves at home if you leave the doors open. Not a problem for everyone I am sure.
The stairs up and down in the bedrooms and the kitchen are hard to see and so quite dangerous, as there is no banister or handhold or coloured strip to show where they begin and end. There is no 'mind the step' sign.
Luggs Barn may have been a 5* property some years ago but it needs some work and a lot more attention to detail to bring it back up to that standard once again.
I am posting negative pictures as the owner is posting enough positive pictures to address the balance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the beds, the location.
Liked least: The lack of cleanliness, too many stairs.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Dear Wild M,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Luggs Barn. We welcome all feedback and take all suggestions and comments seriously as we continue to strive to offer what the majority of our guests view as excellent accommodation in beautiful surroundings .
I am glad you were able to enjoy the area and thank you for your kind words regarding the renovation. We have tried to maintain the properties historical charm where possible and the wooden steps continue with this theme. We appreciate all guests will have there own preferences when it comes to interior. As an old renovated building we have worked hard to ensure that maintenance does not become a problem. Just two weeks ago we had a large section of the downstairs bedroom re-pointed in order to address this so I do apologise if you noticed any further areas that may have been missed by the builders. We will investigate this and of course revisit this if further work is required.
Further apologies for the areas that you did not feel were up to standard on cleanliness. We did call to inspect and rectify on multiple occasions but unfortunately you were not in a position to allow our cleaners to come and rectify the situation or able to take additional supplies to improve the comfort of your stay.
With regards to a missing welcome pack, this is unfortunately not a service we offer in our self catering holiday home. The welcome pack actually refers to the information pack we provide to enable our guests to get the most out of there stay. As environmentally conscience people, when a previous guest leave tea and coffee we tend to leave these for the next guests provided they are still well in date.
A previous guest had informed us that a drink was spilt on our guest book and the decision was made to remove those pages in order to keep the book looking neat. It was a shame to remove these pages as we really do appreciate all the wonderful feedback we have received not only in the guest book but those on websites such as trip advisor and the booking section of our own website along with multiple other online booking and review platforms.
We do share our drive with our neighbours and as they allow for the coming and going of our guests we in turn are happy for them to use the drive way too. We will however take your comments on board and speak with our neighbour to see if they can reduce traffic although this may have been a one off.
Once again we are glad you were able to enjoy your holiday overall and the beauty of the surrounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F
Bielefeld, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Barn Break in an idilic setting!”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My wife, our dog and I spent a week down at Luggs Barn, with a group of friends joining us for the weekend making it a real houseful.

We had a perfect time in the Barn which is so cozy and welcoming with some of the most comfortable beds I can remember. We loved the remote setting which gave us peace and quiet and loads of space to go for long walks with the dog. Having said that there was plenty of civilisation within easy reach and the Barn was easy to find from the M5.

The kitchen-diner is perfect for hosting friends allowing the chef to cook and mix with the guests. The upstairs lounge leads to beautiful views across the surrounding countryside and when the wood burner is lit is such a cozy room which is a pleasure to spend time in.

We would recommend the Barn to anyone looking to stay down in this area and we had such a great time we would certainly look to book here again should we find ourselves down in Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, tranquility and the cozy lounge with wood burner
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Glad to hear you had such a great time. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john c
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Luggs Barn is the ideal base for a great family holiday.”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Tucked away, far from the noise of any traffic, the barn is located half way between the north and south Devon coastlines and offers easy access to both. There are many, good places to eat out and everyone in our party was really happy with the accommodation. Our holiday week flew by and we would have no hesitation in returning to Luggs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The feeling of absolute quiet. Just occasional birdsong.
Liked least: The holiday coming to an end.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
John, We are so glad you and your family had such a great time. We hope to see you one day soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobden49
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm welcome to a beautiful property”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

To be greeted with a freshly baked cake was the perfect start to a fabulous week. The property was perfect for our group of friends who all enjoy walking, pubbing and cooking. The owners Sarah and Bill could not have been more helpful, not just recommending local pubs and walks but also the local cattle farmer who will supply meat to the doorstep! Luggs Barn is within easy reach of the Jurassic coast and we ventured out every day. On our travels we were told of an unusual thatched village called Braodhembury, in the centre of the village is The Drewe Arms which is well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The first floor lounge and the two dogs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2015
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review for us, Alan. It was lovely to meet you and we're glad you all enjoyed your week. We'd be delighted to welcome you back again sometime, and Monty and Ted would love to see your dogs again! Kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning property, wonderful hosts, a perfect relaxing break.”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Just returned from our 3rd Christmas visit to Luggs Barn. The beauty and detail in the property never ceases to win our hearts, and our hosts Sarah & Bill are delightful and have put so much effort and love into the place to make it an effortless and relaxing experience for everyone who stays there. Nothing is too much trouble - fantastic service from start to finish.

Although quite a fun challenge to find the first time, Sarah's directions & help are faultless, and its genuine rural location adds to Luggs Barn's charm. Amazing views, stunning setting, gorgeous walks to revitalise the body & mind (highly recommend a walk up to Culm Davy Beacon, especially to work off all that Christmas food and drink!) and coming back to a roaring log fire and comfy relaxing evenings, priceless. Wonderful little touches such as the freshly home-baked cake on arrival, decorated Christmas tree and festive touches in the kitchen and shared spaces just add to it all. And our children loved meeting Monty and Ted (Sarah & Bill's characterful family dogs) nearly as much as Monty and Ted loved seeing them :)

We stargazed, we enjoyed delicious meals with family and friends (thanks to the well equipped kitchen and ample dining area), we walked, we enjoyed the change of pace and lack of reliance on mobile phones / internet (mobile signal is gloriously patchy there - and that's a good thing!) and we could happily have stayed for weeks longer (although the next visitors would probably have had something to say about that!).

Sarah and Bill have thought of everything, in restoring, providing and looking after this fabulous property. Take time to enjoy the detail of the beamed roof, the original stone features, the beautiful decor and attention to detail in every room. We simply love it.

We certainly WILL be back again in the future, for our fourth, fifth, sixth visit.... if we can get a booking! Understandably very popular, especially for repeat visits (which tells you how good it is).

Thanks again,
With love from
The Rees family (Southampton and Swindon) and the Fagence family (Maidenhead)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
Thankyou so much Helen for taking the time to write a review for us. We're so delighted that you've chosen to spend three Christmases at Luggs Barn and hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing