We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Dog Friendly on top of Everything Else”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Luggs Barn

This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
The vaulted, beamed living room: a stunning space in which to unwind Luggs Barn is tucked away down a private lane yet accessible for coastal and countryside days out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This characterful property occupies a magical setting in the Blackdown Hills AONB
The vaulted, beamed living room: a stunning space in which to unwind
Luggs Barn is tucked away down a private lane yet accessible for coastal and countryside days out
The balcony and garden furniture are perfectly placed to take in the wonderful views
Luggs Barn's well-equipped and stylish kitchen/dining room is perfect for leisurely meals
The spacious ground floor master suite features French windows opening onto the cobbled courtyard
This bedroom features an en suite shower room, window seat and exposed stone walls.
View from farmhouse across the cobbled yard to the hills beyond
The spacious family bathroom (shower over bath). There's also a downstairs WC plus two en suite
Rear of the property showing part of the huge garden and the gravelled parking area
The orchard is a mass of primroses and blossom in the Spring
Luggs Barn enjoys a huge private garden - perfect for families, pet owners or anyone seeking peace
The perfect, atmospheric location for a party or wedding reception (bring own marquee etc)
Soak up these glorious views from the balcony or garden - the perfect chance to unwind
Guests can explore our 5 acres of land, inc this woodland which is carpeted with bluebells in Spring
The owners' picturesque 15thC farmhouse is Luggs Barn's only neighbour
Monty and Ted are hugely popular with guests!
If you'd like to wake up to this view, call us now for late availability offers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard H
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly Dog Friendly on top of Everything Else”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Can only agree with all the good that has been said before. On top of this it was wonderful to find that with four dogs it was truly "dog friendly" This is so contrary to so many other places that claim to be so. Thank you for accommodating us all.
Hope to see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lived up to expectations and more so with four dogs with us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Many thanks to you all for coming to stay! We loved meeting you and Monty and Ted adored having such wonderful playmates! Hopefully it won't be too long before we can welcome you all back again. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz S
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Totally relaxing and reviving”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in April 2013

Luggs Barn is an amazing holiday retreat. We were a party of 9, including 4 young children and a toddler, and everything we could have needed was there for us on arrival, including a delicious home baked cake! We were invited to help ourself to fresh laid eggs if we wanted and the children had plenty of space to play and explore. Sarah, Bill, their adorable children and pets are a reassuring presence without being imposing. The bonus discoveries were a piano in the living area, a bbq under the balcony, the balcony itself (sunset viewed from the balcony - priceless), and a bat colony. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Don't rely on Sat Nav to find the location, just trust in Sarah's detailed directions - they will get you there.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thankyou so much for reviewing Luggs Barn Elizabeth and Emma - it was a pleasure to meet you all! We're glad you had a good time and hope it won't be long until we can welcome you all again.

A visitor earlier this year loved the piano too - so much so that she bought it! - but Bill is happy to put another of his restored pianos in the Barn for future guests should anyone miss it. Sadly a visit from the fox has put paid to our poultry keeping for now, but the bats and other wildlife continue to delight us all; badger watching in the woods is a regular treat at dusk. The balcony is still a favourite spot to enjoy a glass of wine and admire the views - how lovely that you were able to enjoy the sunrise during your stay.

Ted and Monty, and our girls, are always pleased to see returning friends, as are we! If you come back, let me know your favourite cake and I'll make sure one is waiting for you! Kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette V
1 review
“A perfect tranquil get away”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Luggs Barn was just a wonderful location for a family gathering with young children. It was the perfect escape to the country. The setting was great. Lovely views and walks. There were good pubs within a short drive away.

The property itself is beautiful. It has been tastefully and sympathetically renovated. We loved it. The facilities were good, we wanted for nothing.

The owners are very friendly and most helpful in getting you set up for a comfortable stay. They even happily accepted our grocery delivery so it was ready and waiting when we arrived. Amazing!!!

Go on book you won't regret it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful property
Liked least: wifi could be patchy, but given we were away on a relaxing get away this was no issue at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
Thankyou so much Colette! It was lovely meeting you all - we feel very lucky to have so many lovely guests coming to Luggs Barn. We're delighted you all had such a good time and hope it won't be too long before you'll be back again! Kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jun 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review Gary! It was lovely to meet you and Sandra and we're so pleased your big celebration went well. It was wonderful listening to the piano and seeing you all in the garden in black tie! Very memorable occasion for us as well! Thankyou again for your business and hopefully it won't be too long before we can welcome you back again.
Kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richmond, Surrey
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor and views.
Liked least: Wifi was very weak, if not completely off at some points.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Thankyou so much Nikki, we're glad you all enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate you taking the time to review Luggs Barn. Thankyou too for recommending us to friends. We hope to welcome you all again soon!

Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;